Sharks make two changes for Cheetahs

Sharks Director of Rugby Jake White has been forced into making two changes to the team that beat the Lions for this weekend’s match against the Cheetahs at Kings Park.

The most significant change to the backline is at flyhalf as Tim Swiel replace Fred Zeilinga who drops out of the matchday squad.

Odwa Ndungane suffered a shoulder knock against the Lions so he has been replaced by former Springbok Tonderai Chavhanga who will be making his debut for the Sharks at this level.

Zimbabwean born Chavhanga has played for the Stormers and Lions in Super Rugby and also played for Newport Gwent Dragons between 2011 and 2013.

Chavhanga’s six tries on debut for the Springboks remains a record and he went on to play in four Tests for South Africa between 2005 and 2008.

In a rotational change, Keegan Daniel will start at eighthman as Ryan Kankowski is given a rest this week having started in all seven of the Sharks matches this season.

The final change comes on the bench where Heimar Williams replaces Paul Jordaan.

Looking ahead to this weekend Director of Rugby Jake White noted that statistically the Cheetahs have the best attack in Super Rugby and the Sharks have the best defence.

“We have the least number of points scored against us in the competition, the team with the best defensive record and interestingly enough, they have the highest number of points for, although they have the highest number of points scored against them as well. “

“As a coach, you know they are dangerous with ball in hand but there are opportunities to score against them because they are so attack orientated.

“What they’ve gone for is all-out attack, so when they turn the ball over, players aren’t in a defensive mindset or positions, so they can leak tries. “

“But the most important thing for us is that it is an opportunity for us to play against another team with a different style.

The Reds have a unique style, the Bulls have a unique style, the Waratahs have a unique style and this Cheetahs side obviously have a style that suits them and works for them. But they probably haven’t had the reward they want.”


15. Lwazi Mvovo , 14. Tonderai Chavhanga , 13. S’bura Sithole , 12. Frans Steyn , 11. JP Pietersen , 10. Tim Swiel , 9. Charl McLeod , 8. Keegan Daniel , 7. Jean Deysel , 6. Marcell Coetzee , 5. Stephan Lewies , 4. Willem Alberts , 3. Jannie du Plessis , 2. Bismarck du Plessis (C) , 1. Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements , 16. Kyle Cooper , 17. Dale Chadwick , 18. Lourens Adriaanse , 19. Etienne Oosthuizen , 20. Ryan Kankowski , 21. Stefan Ungerer , 22. Heimar Williams , 23. SP Marais

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.