Chiefs make six changes for Crusaders clash

Chiefs coach Dave Rennie has named a team with six changes to the one that beat the Rebels for this weekend’s Super Rugby matches against the Crusaders.

Rennie has retained his rotation policy and this week there are six changes to the starting team that played last week

Pauliasi Manu starts at prop with Brodie Retallick cleared to play. Retallick was initially in doubt this week with suspected concussion but has passed all of the required tests.

Liam Messam returns and will be joined by Tanerau Latimer and Liam Squire in the No 8 jersey.

Tawera Kerr-Barlow starts at halfback and winger Asaeli Tikoirotuma will take the field after two weeks out with a knee injury.

Four changes have been made to the bench with Jamie Mackintosh, Sam Cane, Matt Symons and Augustine Pulu all added to the reserves.

The Easter match will be a very special occasion when iconic Chiefs player Tanerau Latimer will take the field in his 100th Chiefs match.

Tanerau Latimer will become only the second person in the Chiefs 18 year history to become a centurion and will join his captain Liam Messam in the elite club.

Latimer is also one of a very small group of players who has represented New Zealand in three black jerseys when he played for the All Blacks, the Maori All Blacks and the All Black Sevens, winning a commonwealth gold medal with them.

Chiefs’ coach Dave Rennie said, “The Crusaders are a bloody good side with good players that we respect.”

“It is a big occasion being Lats’ 100th match for the Chiefs and the boys rate him highly so they are keen to front for him.”


1. Pauliasi Manu , 2. Rhys Marshall , 3. Ben Tameifuna , 4. Michael Fitzgerald , 5. Brodie Retallick , 6. Liam Messam © , 7. Tanerau Latimer 100th Chiefs Match , 8. Liam Squire , 9. Tawera Kerr-Barlow , 10. Gareth Anscombe , 11. Asaeli Tikoirotuma , 12. Bundee Aki , 13. Andrew Horrell , 14. Tim Nanai-Williams , 15. Tom Marshall

Replacements : 16. Nathan Harris , 17. Jamie Mackintosh , 18. Josh Hohneck , 19. Matt Symons , 20. Sam Cane , 21. Augustine Pulu , 22. Anton Lienert-Brown , 23. Jordan Payne

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.