Waratahs coach Cheika to face SANZAR hearing

Super Rugby organisers SANZAR have announced that Waratahs’ head coach Michael Cheika will face a hearing over his alleged conduct in his team’s loss to the Sharks.

SANZAR completed an investigation into Cheika’s during the Sharks v Waratahs match played at Kings Park on the 29th of March 2014 and referred the matter for a hearing in accordance with SANZAR’s Disciplinary Rules.

South African Super Rugby broadcasters SANZAR made a complaint against Cheika after he allegedly had a brief verbal confrontation with a camera man during the clash at Kings Park.

In the second half around the time when Dave Dennis was sin-binned Cheika left the coaches box and went down to the field to talk to defence coach Nathan Grey who was acting as water boy in the game.

A spokesperson from SuperSport said, “There was a confrontation with the cameraman, the coach objected to Super Sport filming him and he approached and abused him”.

The matter will be heard by SANZAR Judicial Officer Nigel Hampton QC via teleconference on Wednesday 16 April 2014: 5:30pm (AEST), 7:30pm (NZST), 9:30am (SAST).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CAPTCHA *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close