Brumbies bring in rookie lock to face Reds

The Brumbies have named Tom Staniforth to make his Super Rugby debut against the Queensland Reds at Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane on Friday.

Nineteen-year-old Staniforth will start alongside Scott Fardy in the second row and will go head-to-head with the Wallabies second row combination of James Horwill and Rob Simmons.

Nineteen-year-old Staniforth works part time as a pub barman in Canberra to supplement his income but has been with the Brumbies since 2012.

The Brumbies have been forced into starting rookie Staniforth after knee injuries to locks Sam Carter and Leon Power.

The Brumbies have been able to name Wallaby front-rowers Stephen Moore and Scott Sio in their starting line up which pushes Siliva Siliva and prop JP Smith down to the replacements bench.

Christian Lealiifano remains on the replacements bench for another week.

Director of Rugby Laurie Fisher said he was looking forward to seeing the Brumbies
build again after a good win over the Blues in Canberra last weekend.

“We’ve got Steve Moore and Scott Sio which is a big boost for the
side and we’ve got Tommy Staniforth coming in for his debut, so it’s
certainly very exciting for him and for the rest of the guys as well,”
Fisher said.

“He’s a quiet guy, but inwardly he’d be very excited. I sat
down for a chat with him yesterday and he was very excited about the prospect
of taking on two current Wallabies locks.

“He’s been with the team on a fulltime basis and has learned plenty
over the last 18 months. I really do believe he will be more than up to it.

“We’ve shown improvement since the round one game against the Reds,
where they were able to clinch a win. I’m sure you will see an improved
performance from the Brumbies on Friday.”


Jesse Mogg, Joe Tomane, Tevita Kuridrani, Pat McCabe, Robbie Coleman, Matt Toomua, Nic White, Ben Mowen (c), Jarrad Butler, Jordan Smiler, Tom Staniforth, Scott Fardy, Ben Alexander, Stephen Moore, Scott Sio.

Replacements : Siliva Siliva, Ruan Smith, JP Smith, Jack Whetton, Lachlan McCaffrey, Michael Dowsett, Andrew Smith, Christian Lealiifano.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.