Chiefs make ten changes for Cheetahs clash

Super Rugby champions the Chiefs have named their team to play the Cheetahs at Free State Stadium in Bloemfontein with ten changes to the line up that drew in Pretoria last week.

Last week the Chiefs earned a draw with the Bulls by scoring 19 points in the final eleven minutes and they have rotated their squad.

For their last match of their overseas tour the Chiefs front row remains the same but in the forwards Michael Fitzgerald moves to flanker and is joined on the other side of the scrum by Sam Cane.

Liam Messam starts in the No 8 Jersey and Augustine Pulu will take control at halfback. In the backs, Tim Nanai-Williams and Gareth Anscombe will start at winger and fullback.

Mahonri Schwalger has been replaced on the bench by Nathan Harris. Schwalger has experienced an eye issue and has returned to New Zealand along with Ben Afeaki, who also went home as a safety measure after receiving a knock at training prior to the Bulls game.

New additions to the replacements this week are Liam Squire, Tanerau Latimer, Tawera Kerr-Barlow, Anton Lienert-Brown and Mils Muliana.


1. Pauliasi Manu ,2. Rhys Marshall ,3. Ben Tameifuna ,4. Matt Symons ,5. Brodie Retallick,6. Michael Fitzgerald,7. Sam Cane ,8. Liam Messam (VC) ,9. Augustine Pulu ,10. Aaron Cruden (c),11. Asaeli Tikoirotuma ,12. Tom Marshall,13. Andrew Horrell,14. Tim Nanai-Williams ,15. Gareth Anscombe

Replacements :16. Nathan Harris ,17. Jamie Mackintosh,18. Josh Hohneck,19. Liam Squire ,20. Tanerau Latimer ,21. Tawera Kerr-Barlow ,22. Anton Lienert-Brown ,23. Mils Muliaina

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.