Scotland name squad to face Wales in Cardiff

Scotland head coach Scott Johnson has named a squad that includes 13 backs from which he will finalise his team to play Wales at the Millennium Stadium in Cardiff on Saturday.

Injuries sustained in last weekend’s match against France have meant that Johnson will consider his options at training today and tomorrow before confirming the make-up of his back division and bench.

Meanwhile, among the forwards, the only change to the eight which started the French Test sees Ryan Wilson restored to the back-row in place of the injured Johnnie Beattie, with the experienced Alasdair Strokosch returning to provide cover on the bench.

Prop Alasdair Dickinson, has recovered from the calf injury he sustained in Rome last month, and also returns to the substitutes.

Johnson explained,”We’re obviously already without Sean Lamont in the backs after the knee problem he picked up against France.

“We’ve also got some concerns about our wingers, Tommy (Seymour) and Max (Evans) and we’re going to wait until tomorrow to see how they are.”

Options then could see Jack Cuthbert, the 26-year-old Edinburgh Rugby back, who won his only cap to date in the 2011 Rugby World Cup warm-up match against Ireland, return to the fray.

Cuthbert made a strong impression in the Scotland A draw with England Saxons at Scotstoun in January, as did his Edinburgh Rugby team-mate Dougie Fife.

Fife, 23, uncapped, a product of Firrhill High School in Edinburgh and the Boroughmuir and Currie clubs, is unbeaten in two games for Scotland A against England Saxons and has scored ten tries for Edinburgh Rugby in 41 appearances.

Then there is Lee Jones, whose last cap was against Ireland two years ago, but has been revitalised after involvement with Scotland 7s on the Sevens World Series and his loan spell with Glasgow Warriors, including a fine individual try against the Blues in Cardiff.

Edinburgh back Nick De Luca was not considered due to injury.


Backs from

Chris Cusiter, Jack Cuthbert,Alex Dunbar ,Max Evans ,Dougie Fife ,Stuart Hogg,Ruaridh Jackson ,Lee Jones ,Greig Laidlaw ,Matt Scott ,Duncan Taylor ,Richie Vernon,Duncan Weir

Forwards : 1 Ryan Grant ,2 Scott Lawson ,3 Geoff Cross ,4 Richie Gray ,5 Jim Hamilton,6 Ryan Wilson ,7 Kelly Brown ,8 David Denton

Replacements : 16 Ross Ford ,17 Alasdair Dickinson ,18 Euan Murray ,19 Tim Swinson,20 Alasdair Strokosch

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.