De Villiers to win 100th Super Rugby cap vs Chiefs

Stormers captain Jean de Villiers will make his 100th Super Rugby appearance
after being named in the team to play the Chiefs in Hamilton on Friday.

De Villiers will become just the second Stormers Super Rugby centurion,
following in the footsteps of lock Andries Bekker who reached that landmark
in last year’s tournament.

The 33-year-old star made his debut against the Sharks on February 25, 2005
in the left-wing position and he will line up in his customary centre position
this week in what is a deserved 100th Super Rugby game for one of WP Rugby’s
most loyal sons.

“Jean epitomises what it means to be a Stormer,” said Stormers coach
Allister Coetzee on the Stormers site.

“He is a true warrior and a real WP Rugby man and we’re hoping to make
this 100th game special for him, which he deserves.”

Meanwhile, Coetzee has made three enforced changes to the Stormers’ starting
line-up for Friday’s clash against the double defending champions on their home

Ruan Botha will start at lock (in place of the injured Michael Rhodes) and
his earn his first Super Rugby cap in the process, whilst the experienced duo
of Tiaan Liebenberg (hooker) and Brok Harris (tighthead prop) come into the
front row as replacements for Scarra Ntubeni and Frans Malherbe, respectively.

Malherbe, despite suffering a toe injury last week, drops down to the bench,
whilst loose forward Siya Kolisi is back in the 23 after resting his troublesome
AC Joint last weekend and Cup hooker Stephan Coetzee comes into a Super
Rugby matchday squad for the first time.

Should Malherbe not come through a final fitness test this week, Boland Cavaliers
prop Martin Dreyer – who will be flying to New Zealand from Cape Town with hooker
Coetzee on Tuesday – will come into the matchday 23.


15. Jaco Taute ,
14. Kobus van Wyk ,
13. Jean de Villiers (captain) ,
12. Damian de Allende ,
11. Gio Aplon ,
10. Demetri Catrakilis ,
9. Nic Groom ,
8. Duane Vermeulen ,
7. Schalk Burger (vice-captain) ,
6. Deon Fourie ,
5. De Kock Steenkamp ,
4. Ruan Botha ,
3. Brok Harris ,
2. Tiaan Liebenberg ,
1. Steven Kitshoff

Replacements: ,
16. Stephan Coetzee ,
17. Oliver Kebble ,
18. Frans Malherbe ,
19. Siya Kolisi ,
20. Nizaam Carr ,
21. Louis Schreuder ,
22. Peter Grant ,
23. Sailosi Tagicakibau ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.