Wales make two changes for England in Six Nations

Wales have named their team to play England on Sunday in the Six Nations at Twickenham with Lions duo Jonathan Davies and Alun Wyn Jones returning to the starting team.

British and Irish Lion Davies returns from injury to reunite Wales’ most capped centre pairing as he lines up alongside Jamie Roberts .

The only change in pack, from the victory against France, sees Alun Wyn Jones return in the second-row after missing the Millennium Stadium clash with a foot infection.

He partners Luke Charteris behind a front-row of Gethin Jenkins ,Richard Hibbard and Adam Jones , with Scarlets lock Jake Ballmoving to the bench. The back-row remains unchanged with captain Sam Warburton featuring alongside Dan Lydiate and Taulupe Faletau .

Rhys Webb and Rhys Priestland continue their partnership at half-back.

There is one positional change in the back-line with George North returning to the wing from centre, in place of Scarlets back Liam Williams who provides cover from the bench. North lines up alongside Cardiff Blues pair Alex Cuthbert and Leigh Halfpenny in the back three.

“It’s great to have both Jon and Alun Wyn back and available and they come into a very experienced side,” said Gatland.

“Jon came through the match well at the weekend and he is ready to go.

“We were happy with the response and performance against France but we know we will have to raise it another level on Sunday.

“We are really looking forward to going up to Twickenham, England have performed well so far and it’s set up to be a great game with all to play for.”

On the bench Ken Owens, Rhodri Jones and Paul James are named as the front-row replacements and are joined by Ball and Ospreys flanker Justin Tipuric to complete the forward cover and Mike Phillips , Dan Biggar and Williams provide cover for the backs.


Leigh Halfpenny, Alex Cuthbert, Jonathan Davies , Jamie Roberts, George North , Rhys Priestland, Rhys Webb, Gethin Jenkins , Richard Hibbard, Adam Jones, Luke Charteris, Alun Wyn Jones , Dan Lydiate , Sam Warburton (C), Taulupe Faletau .

Replacements: Ken Owens , Paul James, Rhodri Jones , Jake Ball , Justin Tipuric, Mike Phillips, Dan Biggar, Liam Williams.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.