Blues include Hickey in squad for South Africa

The Blues have named their 27-man squad for their two week Super Rugby tour of South Africa and have included rookie number 10 Simon Hickey.

Sir John Kirwan ‘s men play the Bulls at Loftus Versfeld this Saturday before taking on the Lions at Ellis Park a week later.

Having recently arrived from Japan, both Hayden Triggs and Jerome Kaino will remain in New Zealand alongside a number of injured players including Ma ‘a Nonu, Francis Saili, Jamison Gibson-Park and Baden Kerr.

The squad features a number of players who have not travelled to the Republic before, including Benji Marshall, Patrick Tuipulotu, Jordan Manihera, Simon Hickey, Tevita Li and Liaki Moli.A

A statement by the Blues said that Francis Saili, Baden Kerr, Jamison Gibson-Park, Ma ‘a Nonu, Kane Barrett are all still unavailable due to injury.

The Blues arrived in Johannesburg this morning.

The Blues squad is:


Luke Braid
Tom Donnelly
Charlie Faumuina
Steven Luatua
Jordan Manihera
Tom McCartney
Keven Mealamu
Liaki Moli
Brendon O ‘Connor
James Parsons
Sam Prattley
Peter Saili
Angus Ta ‘avao
Patrick Tuipulotu
Ofa Tu ‘ungafasi
Tony Woodcock


Pita Ahki
Frank Halai
Bryn Hall
Simon Hickey
Tevita Li
Benji Marshall
George Moala
Chris Noakes
Charles Piutau
Piri Weepu
Jackson Willison

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.