Western Force name team to play Brumbies

The Western Force have named their team to play the Brumbies at nib Stadium on Saturday with flanker Chris Alcock and lock Hugh McMeniman returning to the starting line up.

Alcock, who, along with Alby Mathewson, was one of only two players to play each match for the Force in 2013, will join captain Matt Hodgson and No.8 Ben McCalman in the back row.

McMeniman’s selection in the starting line-up completes his return from a shoulder injury that sidelined him for the second half of 2013. McMeniman will pack down alongside Sam Wykes on Saturday.

The Force will field an identical backline to last weekend, including Nick Cummins on the wing and Kyle Godwin at inside centre, who each crossed for the Force’s two tries against the Waratahs.

The changes to the Western Force bench see lock Wilhelm Steenkamp and flanker Angus Cottrell start from the reserves list, while Jayden Hayward returns to the match day squad after scoring 24 points in Force A’s 29-23 win over Reds A in last Friday’s Pacific Rugby Cup opener.

Flyhalf Zack Holmes and reserve scrumhalf Ian Prior will line up against their former club for the first time since joining the Western Force.

Western Force Head Coach Michael Foley says his team is looking forward to playing in front of the ‘Sea of Blue’ for the first time in 2014 at the “Force Field” (nib Stadium).

“While we were disappointed with aspects of last week’s game, the upside is we have control of how we deliver in those areas in the future,” he said.

“Some of our discipline to system let us down, but the boys individually showed great spirit to still be in the fight at the 65th-minute mark.

“We’re looking forward to playing at home in front of our supporters for the first time this season and above all else, our goal is to harness the individual fighting spirit into an 80-minute team performance.”

The Western Force will celebrate its opening home match of the season by staging a welcome for its supporters from the Claisebrook Train Station and on arrival at the ‘Force Field’ (nib Stadium).

Western Force

1. Tetera Faulkner,2. Nathan Charles,3. Kieran Longbottom,4. Sam Wykes ,5. Hugh McMeniman,6. Chris Alcock,7. Matt Hodgson (c),8. Ben McCalman,9. Alby Mathewson,10. Zack Holmes,11. Nick Cummins,12. Kyle Godwin,13. Junior Rasolea,14. Patrick Dellit ,15. Luke Morahan

Replacements : 16. Heath Tessmann,17. Pek Cowan,18. Ollie Hoskins,19. Wilhelm Steenkamp,20. Angus Cottrell,21. Ian Prior,22. Sias Ebersohn,23. Jayden Hayward

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.