Gloucester give Tindall a reason to celebrate

Gloucester gave Mike Tindall a reason to celebrate his 200th cap for the club when they beat Harlequins 25-20 at Kingsholm on Saturday.

Hosts Gloucester ran in three tries to overcome the fourth-placed visitors.

Harlequins came into the match in good form after winning twice in February
but with Chris Robshaw away with England they were unable to build upon a promising

It was in fact the visitors who opened the scoring, Ben Botica scored two penalties
in the opening thirteen minutes before Gloucester struck.

It was Sione Kalamafoni who dragged his side back into the contest, the Tongan
crashed over the line for the first try of the afternoon after good work from
James Hudson. Hudson found Kalamafoni with a fine offload and the flanker did
the rest.

Ollie Lindsay-Haugue soon hit back for the Quins after good work from scrum-half
Lee Dickson and with both tries being converted by Rob Cook and Botica respectively
it was 13-6 to Quins at the break.

But whatever director of rugby Nigel Davies said at the interval worked as
the Cherry and Whites crossed the whitewash twice in the opening fifteen minutes
of the second-half.

The first of these came from flanker Matt Kvesic as he capitalised on good
work from the Gloucester pack.

More strong work from the forwards allowed Dan Murphy to follow over just eight
minutes later.

Quins hit back through Dave Ward late on after Yann Thomas was sin-binned but
the hosts held on for an important 25-20 victory.

Final Score Gloucester 25 (7) Harlequins 20 (13)


Tries – Kalamafoni, Kvesic, Murphy
Pen – Cook (2)
Con – Cook (2)
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – Lindsay-Haugue, Ward
Pen – Botica (2)
Con – Botica (2)
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Greg Garner (61st Premiership game).
Assistant Referees: Andy Watson and Ashley Rowden.
TMO: Robin Goodliffe.



Rob Cook; Charlie Sharples, Henry Trinder, Mike Tindall (capt), Martyn Thomas; Ryan Mills, Dan Robson; Nick Wood, Darren Dawidiuk, Rupert Harden; Elliott Stooke, James Hudson; Sione Kalamafoni, Matt Kvesic, Gareth Evans

Replacements: Huia Edmonds, Dan Murphy, Yann Thomas, Will James, Matt Cox, Jimmy Cowan, Freddie Burns, Shane Monahan


15. Ollie Lindsay-Hague, 14. Sam Smith, 13. Tom Casson, 12. Tim Molenaar, 11. Ugo Monye, 10. Ben Botica, 9. Karl Dickson , 8. Nick Easter (C) , 7. Luke Wallace , 6. Maurie Fa’asavalu , 5. George Robson , 4. Nick Kennedy , 3. Kyle Sinckler , 2. Joe Gray, 1. Mark Lambert

Replacements :16. Dave Ward, 17. Darryl Marfo, 18. Paul Doran Jones, 19. Charlie Matthews, 20. Tom Guest, 21. Sam Stuart, 22. Louis Grimoldby, 23. Paul Sackey

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.