Bath beat Exeter Chiefs to stay in the hunt

Bath kept themselves in the hunt for the Aviva Premiership play offs when they beat Exeter Chiefs 23-27 at Sandy Park on Saturday.

The Chiefs’ run of good form had come to an end at the hands of Northampton
on their last outing, while Bath’s had continued with a win over Newcastle.

The two teams traded penalties early in the first half and there was little
between the two teams for the majority of the game.

The game’s first try was a joy to behold, and it went to Bath. George Ford
ghosted through the defensive line before finding Kyle Eastmond, who laid the
ball on for Ollie Devoto to finish the move.

Ford added the conversion to make it 3-10, but ten points from Exeter in the
final moments of the first half handed the lead back to the hosts.

After Gareth Steenson’s penalty goal, the TMO awarded a try to Ben White, who
was adjudged to have grounded the ball under a pile of bodies.

Steenson added the conversion to make it 13-10 to Exeter at the break, and
they went six points up after the restart when Steenson hit the target with
a third penalty goal.

But two tries in ten minutes from Bath midway through the second half turned
the game on its head. Eastmond finished off a fantastic team move, which Ford
converted, to put Bath back in front, before Nick Abendanon showed great individual
skill to chip the ball and regather for a sensational try.

Ford was again on target with the extras to make it 13-24, but Exeter hit back
almost immediately when Ian Whitten broke through a stretched Bath defence for
Steenson to convert.

Bath led by a point heading into the last ten minutes, and they were able to
preserve their narrow advantage in the period that followed, before sealing
victory through Ford’s penalty goal in the final minute.

Final Score Exeter Chiefs 23 Bath 27


Tries: White, Whitten
Cons: Steenson 2
Pens: Steenson 3

Tries: Devoto, Eastmond, Abendanon
Cons: Ford 3
Pens: Ford 2

Match Officials
: Andrew Small (98th Premiership game).
Assistant Referees: Roger Baileff and Gareth Copsey.
TMO: Keith Lewis.


Exeter: 15 Luke Arscott, 14 Matt Jess, 13 Ian Whitten, 12 Phil Dollman, 11 Tom James, 10 Gareth Steenson, 9 Dave Lewis, 8 Dave Ewers, 7 Ben White, 6 Tom Johnson, 5 Damian Welch, 4 Dean Mumm (capt), 3 Hoani Tui, 2 Jack Yeandle, 1 Ben Moon.

Replacements: 16 Luke Cowan-Dickie, 17 Carl Rimmer, 18 Alex Brown, 19 Don Armand, 20 Kai Horstmann, 21 Haydn Thomas, 22 Henry Slade, 23 Fetu’u Vainikolo.


15. Anthony Watson,14. Horacio Agulla,13. Ollie Devoto,12. Kyle Eastmond,11. Matt Banahan,10. George Ford,9. Micky Young,1. Paul James,2. Ross Batty,3. David Wilson ,4. Stuart Hooper ( c ),5. Dave Attwood,6. Matt Garvey,7. Francois Louw,8. Leroy Houston

Replacements :16. Eusebio Guinazu,17. Nathan Catt,18. Anthony Perenise,19. Dominic Day,20. Alafoti Fa’osiliva,21. Peter Stringer,22. Gavin Henson,23. Nick Abendanon

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.