Hollenbach to captain Lions aganst Sharks in trial

Lions head coach Johan Ackermann has named Alwyn Hollenbach as captain of a 26-man side to take on The Sharks at Ellis Park this Friday in their final Super Rugby warm up match.

Ackermann has made wholesale changes to his team that beat the Southern Kings 12-19 in Port Elizabeth at the weekend.

He believes that the match will be the ideal opportunity to mix youth and experience, and will act as a learning curve for those that have not yet come into contact with a side as experienced as The Sharks.

“Of course it is important for us to avoid further injuries so we have decided to rest some of our players,” Ackermann shared.

“However, I also believe Friday’s game will give some of our young players an opportunity to express themselves and gain some valuable experience. It will be a chance for them to put their hands up for the future.”

In the forwards, Jacques van Rooyen (loosehead), Warwick Tecklenburg (flank) and Willie Britz (eighthman) move up from the bench into the starting XV.

Bees Roux, Lourens Erasmus, Martin Muller and Ruaan Lerm have also been drafted in after solid performances during their Vodacom Cup warm-up game against the Blue Bulls in Polokwane, last Saturday.

Meanwhile, in the backline, Willie du Plessis moves into the starting line-up at flyhalf as Faf de Klerk comes in at scrumhalf.

Alwyn Hollenbach and Stokkies Hanekom have been brought in in the midfield, while Deon van Rensburg will start at right wing.

Coenie van Wyk comes in at fullback after Andries Coetzee suffered a knee injury during the game against the Southern Kings.


15. Coenie van Wyk,14. Deon van Rensburg ,13. Stokkies Hanekom ,12. Alwyn Hollenbach (c),11. Chrysander Botha ,10. Wilie du Plessis,9. Faf de Klerk,8. Willie Britz ,7. Ruaan Lerm,6. Warwick Tecklenburg,5. Martin Muller,4. Lourens Erasmus ,3. Bees Roux,2. Willie Wepener ,1. Jacques van Rooyen

Replacements :16. Malcolm Marx,17. Charles Marais,18. Corne Fourie ,19. Stephan Vermeulen ,20. Hugo Kloppers,21. MB Lusaseni ,22. Stephan de Witt ,23. Ross Cronje,24. JW Jonker,25. Ruan Combrinck,26. Deon Helberg

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.