Cheetahs down Pumas in Super Rugby warm up

2013 Super Rugby Semi-finalists the Cheetahs comfortably beat the Pumas 31-6 in a Super Rugby warm up match in Bloemfontein.

The Cheetahs put the final touch on their preparations for this year’s Super
Rugby competition with a win over the Pumas in the two side’s pre-season encounter
at Old Greys’ field, in Bloemfontein, on Saturday.

The hosts looked especially sharp on the defensive, and their attack also looked
better than was the case against the Kings on their recent tour of the Eastern

Cheetahs loose forward Boom Prinsloo proved his worth, scoring two tries on
the day, while the Bloemfontein-based side kept the Pumas from scoring any other
points than the two penalties via the boot of JC Roos.

Both came in the first
half for the visitors with all their other attacks muffled by the home side.

Two tries in the first half, by flanker Jean Cook and Prinsloo, gave the Cheetahs
a half time lead of 10-6, a score coach Naka Drotske would not have been too
happy with considering his team had the majority of possession.

After half-time the hosts regrouped and a much better attacking display emerged.

Springbok prop Trevor Nyakane came on from the replacement bench after Caylib
Oosthuizen got the nod ahead of him in the starting line-up.

With the latter,
the Cheetahs struggled in the scrums, but Nyakane’s presence bolstered the hosts
and even led to a penalty try for his team seven minutes from full time.

New Cheetahs scrumhalf Shaun Venter had a good run, but stalwart Sarel Pretorius
showed in the second half he would not be easily booted out of the starting

Pretorius combined well with Springbok flyhalf Johan Goosen, as the Cheetahs
put together a good performance.

Final Score Cheetahs 31 Pumas 6


Tries – Jean Cook, Boom Prinsloo (2), Penalty
Pen -Johan Goosen.
Con – Johan Goosen (2), Elgar Watts (2)
Drop –

Tries –
Pen – JC Roos (2).
Con –
Drop –



15 Hennie Daniller, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Johann Sadie, 12 Francois Venter, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Shaun Venter, 8 Philip van der Walt, 7 Lappies Labuschagne, 6 Jean Cook, 5 Francois Uys, 4 Lood de Jager, 3 Coenie Oosthuizen, 2 Adriaan Strauss (c), 1 Caylib Oosthuizen.

Replacements : 16 Ryno Barnes, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Ligtoring Landman, 19 Boom Prinsloo, 20 Sarel Pretorius, 21 Elgar Watts, 22 Rayno Benjamin, 23 Riaan Smit, 24 Maks van Dyk.


15 Coeni Van Wyk, 14 Jerome Pretorius, 13 Wilmaure Louw, 12 Dewald Pretorius, 11 Deon Scholtz, 10 JC Roos, 9 Sinovuyo Nyoka, 8 Renaldo Bothma, 7 Uzair Cassiem, 6 Corne Steenkamp (c), 5 Marius Coetzer, 4 Giant Mtyanda, 3 Drew Van Coller, 2 Jacques Momberg, 1 Sabelo Nhlapo.

Replacements : 16 De Jay Terblanche, 17 Stephan Kotze, 18 Doppies Le Roux, 19 RW Kember, 20 Jaco Bouwer, 21 Reynier Van Rooyen, 22 Ashwin Scott, 23 JW Bell, 24 Justin Van Staden.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.