Sarries beat Newcastle to qualify for LV Cup Semis

Premiership leaders Saracens brushed aside Newcastle Falcons 41-8 in their Anglo Welsh LV= Cup at Allianz Park on Sunday afternoon.

The match was held a day after Saracens beat a touring South African Sharks team 23-15 as part of the visitors warm up for the Super Rugby season.

The result means that Saracens have joined Bath in qualifying for the
Anglo-Welsh Cup semi-finals with a round to play.

Saracens led 15-8 at the interval thanks to five penalties from scrum-half Ben
Spencer while Newcastle wing Tom Catterick scored the only try of the first

But it was one-way traffic after the break.

Two tries from number eight Jackson Wray early in the second-half gave the
hosts a comfortable lead before full-back Ben Ransom and replacement lock Tom
Jubb (on his birthday) scored a try each in the last quarter to secure the bonus-point
win and top spot in Pool 1.

Final Score Saracens 41 (15) Newcastle Falcons 8 (8)


Tries – Wray (2), Ransom, Jubb
Pen -Spencer (5)
Con – Spencer (3)
Drop –

Newcastle Falcons
Tries – Catterick
Pen – Hodgson
Con –
Drop –

Match Officials
Greg Macdonald (England)
Assistant referees: Brian Ravenhill (England), Kelvin Stewart (England)
Timekeeper: John Burtenshaw (England)
Assessor: Brian Campsall (England), Clive Leeke (England)


Saracens: 15, Ben Ransom, 14 Jack Wilson, 13 Tim Streather, 12 Nick Tompkins, 11 Nathan Earle, 10 Nils Mordt (c), 9 Ben Spencer, 8 Jackson Wray, 7 Matt Hankin, 6 Nick de Jaeger, 5 Eoin Sheriff, 4 Hayden Smith, 3 James Johnston, 2 Jared Saunders, 1 Rhys Gill

Replacements: 16 Scott Spurling, 17 Nick Auterac, 18 Biyi Alo, 19 Tom Jubb, 20 Maro Itoje, 21 Duncan Taylor, 22 Sam Stanley, 23 Charlie Kingsman

Newcastle Falcons: 15 Simon Hammersley, 14 Tom Catterick, 13 Danny Barnes, 12 Alex Crockett, 11 Zach Kibirige, 10 Joel Hodgson, 9 Chris Pilgrim, 8 Chris York (c), 7 Dan Temm, 6 Ben Morris, 5 Glen Young, 4 Sean Tomes, 3 Oliver Tomaszczyk, 2 George McGuigan, 1 Franck Montanella

Replacements: 16 David Nelson, 17 Gary Strain, 18 Grant Shiells, 19 Will Witty, 20 Ollie Hodgson, 21 Andy Davies, 22 Rory Clegg, 23 Tom Penny

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.