Toulouse down Saracens and book qtr final spot

 Toulouse booked a place in the Heineken Cup quarter finals when they beat Saracens 21-11 at Stade Ernest Wallon on Sunday.

Although Saracens scored the only try of the match Jean-Marc Doussain punished the English Premiership leaders with seven penalties which proved to be enough to win the match.

Saracens took an early lead but were worn down by the hosts and looked set to finish with a losing bonus point until five minutes before time Doussain slotted his final penalty which put the visitors behind by 10 points.

Saracens are still able to qualify with the final Pool 3 games next week against

While qualifying as Pool 3 winners now looks a tall order Saracens can still
go through as one of the two best runners up.

Defending champions Toulon, heavyweight French rivals Clermont and former winners
Munster all secured places in the quarter-finals on Saturday.

The day’s results also ensured Pool 5 leaders Ulster and second-placed Leicester
advance into the last eight, both are assured of at least finishing as one of
the two best runners-up.

They meet next week to determine who will win their pool.

Final Score Toulouse 21 (12) Saracens 11 (8)


Tries –
Pen -Doussain (7)
Con –
Drop –

Tries – C.Ashton
Pen – Farrell (2)
Con –
Drop –

Match Officials

Referee: Alain Rolland (Ireland),
Assistant ref : Stuart Gaffikin (Ireland),
Assistant ref : Olly Hodges (Ireland),
TMO : Jude Quinn (Ireland),
Citing Commissioner : Jeff Mark (Wales)

Toulouse: Maxime Medard; Yoann Huget, Yann David , Clement Poitrenaud, Hosea Gear; Jean-Marc Doussain, Jano Vermaak; Schalk Ferreira, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Census Johnston, Yoann Maestri, Patricio Albacete, Yannick Nyanga, Thierry Dusautoir (c), Louis Picamoles

Replacements: Christopher Tolofua, Gurthro Steenkamp, Yohan Montes, Romain Millo-Chluski, Joe Tekori, Sebastien Bezy, Gael Fickou, Yacouba Camara

Saracens: Alex Goode; Chris Ashton, Chris Wyles, Brad Barritt, David Strettle; Owen Farrell, Neil de Kock; Mako Vunipola, Schalk Brits, James Johnston, Steve Borthwick (c), Alistair Hargreaves, Jackson Wray, Kelly Brown, Billy Vunipola

Replacements: Jamie George, Richard Barrington, Matt Stevens, George Kruis, Ernst Joubert, Richard Wigglesworth, Charlie Hodgson, Duncan Taylor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.