Leicester snatch late draw at home against Bath

Jamie Gibson scored a late try for Leicester Tigers to earn them a 27-all draw against Bath in the Aviva Premiership at Welford Road on Sunday.

In an exciting first half, the West Country outfit took a 20-14 lead into the
interval though Anthony Watson and Francois Louw tries and the accurate boot of
George Ford.

Miles Benjamin’s touchdown and nine points from Owen Williams was Leicester’s
response before the interval and Williams added a fourth three-pointer in the
second period.

Jonathan Joseph’s score appeared to have secured a victory for the visitors,
but Thomas Waldrom and Gibson went over to level matters.

Despite enduring an indifferent campaign so far this season, it was the Tigers
that opened the scoring with a fine move. Richard Cockerill’s men were patient
with ball in hand before an overlap was created out wide and Benjamin scampered

Although Williams was wide with a difficult conversion, the fly-half, who impressed
last week against Sale Sharks, kicked a penalty to extend their lead to 8-0.

Bath hit back almost immediately when Nick Abendanon broke through and fed
Watson who finished superbly.

Louw then touched down following excellent work from Kyle Eastmond and Ford
as the visitors completed their revival after a slow start.

Both teams continued to have opportunities, but it was the respective boots
of Williams and Ford which dominated the rest of the half as the stand-offs
traded a pair of penalties.

Leicester’s pivot reduced the arrears with another three-pointer five minutes
into the second period, but Mike Ford’s side continued to look dangerous and
Joseph crossed the whitewash from close range to take them 10 points ahead.

The Tigers pressed trying to eat into Bath’s advantage and hopes were raised
when Stuart Hooper was sin-binned. Waldrom then went over to move them to within
five before Gibson’s score levelled the match right at the end.

Final Score Leicester Tigers (14) 27Bath (20) 27


Leicester Tigers
Tries – Benjamin, Waldrom, Gibson
Pen -Williams (4)
Con –
Drop –

Tries – Watson, Louw, Joseph
Pen – Ford (2)
Con – Ford (3)
Drop –

Match Officials
Referee: JP Doyle (72nd Premiership game).
Assistant Referees: Ashley Rowden and Gareth Copsey.
TMO: Geoff Warren.


Leicester Tigers

15 Mathew Tait , 14 Niall Morris , 13 Vereniki Goneva , 12 Toby Flood (c) , 11 Miles Benjamin , 10 Owen Williams , 9 Ben Youngs , 1 Marcos Ayerza , 2 Tom Youngs , 3 Dan Cole , 4 Louis Deacon , 5 Ed Slater , 6 Jamie Gibson , 7 Julian Salvi , 8 Jordan Crane

Replacements : 16 Rob Hawkins , 17 Boris Stankovich , 18 Fraser Balmain , 19 Sebastian de Chaves , 20 Thomas Waldrom , 21 David Mele , 22 Scott Hamilton , 23 Matt Smith


15. Nick Abendanon , 14. Anthony Watson , 13. Jonathan Joseph , 12. Kyle Eastmond , 11. Matt Banahan , 10. George Ford , 9. Peter Stringer, 8. Carl Fearns , 7. Francois Louw , 6. Matt Garvey , 5. Dave Attwood , 4. Stuart Hooper ( c ) , 3. Anthony Perenise , 2. Rob Webber , 1. Paul James

Replacements : 16. Eusebio Guinazu , 17. Nathan Catt , 18. Juan Pablo Orlandi , 19. Dominic Day , 20. Leroy Houston , 21. Martin Roberts , 22. Ollie Devoto , 23. Horacio Agulla

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.