Gloucester edge past London Irish

Gloucester gave London Irish their sixth consecutive loss when they beat the Exiles 19-22 at the Madejski Stadium in the Aviva Premiership.

Fergus Mulchrone’s try gave Irish an early 7-0 lead before the Cherry and Whites responded with 19 unanswered points through Jonny May’s converted touchdown and four Billy Twelvetrees penalties.

Although the hosts came back through two Eamonn Sheridan scores, Burns’ three-pointer was enough to secure victory for the visitors.

Despite this encounter being between two of this season’s Premiership strugglers, both teams are renowned for their exciting backlines.

And it took just 63 seconds for the Exiles to score the first try when Humphreys sent Mulchrone through a gaping hole.

Gloucester were considered as play-off contenders at the start of the campaign but they have endured a torrid year so far.

To their credit, they responded well to that early score and successive Twelvetrees penalties reduced the arrears to one point. Irish continued to play their wide game but it proved costly when James O’Connor was isolated and the visitors’ fly-half picked up the loose ball.

Twelvetrees then off-loaded to May who had a free run to the line. The stand-off converted and added his third penalty to extend the advantage to 16-7 at the break.

The Cherry and Whites continued to control proceedings in the second period. Elliott Stooke went close to scoring their second try before Twelvetrees kicked another three-pointer.

Brian Smith’s men replied and finally got themselves on the board with their first points since the opening minute when Sheridan crossed the whitewash.

Although Burns came on to add a penalty to give Gloucester a 22-12 lead, the Exiles’ inside centre touched down for his second try of the afternoon, but they couldn’t find the winning score.

Gloucester replacement Huia Edmonds was named man of the match.

Final Score London 19 (7) Irish Gloucester 22 (16)


London Irish
Tries – Mulchrone, Sheridan (2)
Pen –
Con – Humphreys, Geraghty
Drop –

Tries – May
Pen – Twelvetrees 4
Con – Twelvetrees
Drop –

Match Officials
: Andrew Small (95th Premiership game).
Assistant Referees: Nigel Carrick and Paul Burton
TMO: Graham Hughes.


London Irish

15. James O’Connor ; 14. Topsy Ojo ; 13. Fergus Mulchrone; 12. Eamonn Sheridan; 11. Alex Lewington; 10. Ian Humphreys; 9. Tom as O’Leary ; 1. Matt Parr; 2. Jimmy Stevens; 3. CJ Van Der Linde ; 4. George Skivington (Captain); 5. Ian Gough ; 6. Kieran Low ; 7. Ofisa Treviranus ; 8. Blair Cowan

Replacements: 16. Mike Mayhew; 17. John Yapp ; 18. Leo Halavatau; 19. Nic Rouse; 20. Jebb Sinclair ; 21. Andrew Fenby; 22. Shane Geraghty ; 23. Ed Hoadley


Rob Cook; Charlie Sharples, Henry Trinder, Mike Tindall, Jonny May; Billy Twelvetrees (capt), Jimmy Cowan; Nick Wood, Darren Dawidiuk, Sila Puafisi; Elliott Stooke, James Hudson; Matt Cox, Matt Kvesic, Ben Morgan

Replacements: Huia Edmonds, Yann Thomas, Shaun Knight, Will James, Gareth Evans, Dan Robson, Freddie Burns, Martyn Thomas

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.