Northampton Saints cruise past Worcester Warriors

Northampton Saints gave Worcester Warriors their ninth Aviva Premiership loss this season when they beat the Warriors 10-33 at Sixways Stadium.

Despite controlling the first half, Northampton went into the interval 7-6
behind through Ignacio Mieres’ try, while Stephen Myler kicked two penalties
for the visitors.

Myler and Chris Pennell traded three-pointers in the second period before Samu
Manoa, Tom Collins and Tom Wood all touched down to secure a comfortable victory.

Although the hosts started brightly with a kickable penalty being missed by
Mieres, the Saints took command.

The scrum, such an area of weakness for Dean Ryan’s men this term, was continuously
on the back foot and that allowed the visitors to dominate possession and territory.

However, Worcester’s defence remained strong and two Myler penalties in the
first 20 minutes was all they had to show for their efforts.

And after Ken Pisi had a try disallowed for a forward pass, the home team amazingly
took the lead at the break when Paul Hodgson charged down Myler’s kick and Mieres
scampered over.

Buoyed by their first half display, the Warriors went on the front foot after
the interval, but it was Northampton who were next to score through the boot
of their stand-off.

Pennell regained the advantage for the hosts with a three-pointer before Manoa
crashed across the whitewash.

Myler added a penalty before Collins and Wood went over late on as the Saints
recorded yet another win.

Final Score Worcester 10 (7) Northampton 33 (6)


Tries – Mieres
Pen -Pennell
Con – Mieres
Drop –

Tries – Manoa, Collins, Wood
Pen – Myler (4)
Con – Myler (3)
Drop –

Match Officials
: Tim Wigglesworth (74th Premiership game).
Assistant Referees: Paul Dix and Stuart Terheege.
TMO. David Sainsbury.



15 Chris Pennell , 14 James Stephenson , 13 Alex Grove , 12 Josh Matavesi , 11 Dean Hammond , 10 Ignacio Mieres , 9 Paul Hodgson , , 1 Ofa Fainga’anuku , 2 Chris Brooker , 3 Rob O’Donnell , 4 James Percival , 5 Mariano Galarza , 6 Richard de Carpentier , 7 Sam Betty , 8 Jonathan Thomas (c)

Replacements , 16 Ed Shervington , 17 George Porter , 18 John Andress , 19 Mike Williams , 20 Chris Jones , 21 Jeremy Su’a , 22 Paul Warwick , 23 Max Stelling

Northampton Saints: 15 Glenn Dickson, 14 Ken Pisi, 13 Dom Waldouck, 12 Luther Burrell, 11 Tom Collins, 10 Stephen Myler, 9 Lee Dickson, 8 Sam Dickinson, 7 Tom Wood, 6 Calum Clark, 5 Christian Day, 4 Samu Manoa, 3 Salesi Ma’afu, 2 Dylan Hartley (c), 1 Alex Waller.

Replacements: 16 Mike Haywood, 17 Ethan Waller, 18 Tom Mercey, 19 Courtney Lawes, 20 Phil Dowson, 21 Alex Day, 22 Vasily Artemyev, 23 Tom Stephenson.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.