Bath sweep London Wasps aside in Premiership

Bath moved up to third place in the Aviva Premiership standings when they beat London Wasps 5-28 at Adams Park on Sunday.

Semesa Rokoduguni was the visitors’ hero, scoring two tries as Bath delivered a dominant display throughout. Rokoduguni’s first try and two three-pointers from George Ford gave the visitors an 11-0 advantage at the interval.

And the visitors continued to dominate proceedings after the break as Ford kicked another penalty and their Fijian winger went over for his second score.

Although Jonah Holmes touched down for a consolation effort, Matt Garvey crossed the whitewash late on to complete a fine win. The West Country outfit have impressed so far this season with their pack in particular proving a dominant force.

Their driving game was to the fore early on and, after Wasps had infringed, Ford kicked a penalty to give them a 3-0 lead. The hosts’ fly-half then surprisingly missed two opportunities to level matters before his opposite number took Bath further ahead with a drop-goal.

At this point, Gary Gold’s men were well on top and the pressure eventually told on the home team’s rearguard when Phil Swainston was sin-binned. That extra space allowed Bath the chance to work an impressive back-line move which ended in Rokoduguni going over for an unconverted try.

The second half followed much the same pattern as the first with the West Country side controlling possession and territory. Ford added a second penalty before good work from Leroy Houston allowed Rokoduguni to finish a well manufactured score.

Although Holmes crossed the whitewash after a mistake from the visitors, Garvey powered over from close range to give Gold’s men a comprehensive win.

Final Score London Wasps 5 (5) Bath 28 (11)


Try: Holmes

Tries: Rokoduguni 2, Garvey
Cons: Ford, Heathcote
Pens: Ford 2
Drop: Ford

Match Officials
Luke Pearce (19th Premiership game).
Assistant Referees: Paul Burton and Paul Dix.
TMO: Sean Davey.


London Wasps

15. Elliot Daly , 14. Jonah Holmes , 13. Ben Jacobs , 12. Chris Bell (captain) , 11. Josh Bassett , 10. Andy Goode , 9. Joe Simpson , 1. Matt Mullan , 2. Carlo Festuccia , 3. Phil Swainston , 4. Tom Palmer , 5. Kearnan Myall , 6. Ashley Johnson , 7. Sam Jones , 8. Nathan Hughes

Replacements :16. Neil Cochrane , 17. Simon McIntyre , 18. Will Taylor , 19. Joe Launchbury , 20. James Haskell , 21. Guy Thompson , 22. Charlie Davies , 23. Joe Carlisle


15. Nick Abendanon , 14. Semesa Rokoduguni , 13. Jonathan Joseph , 12. Ollie Devoto , 11. Matt Banahan , 10. George Ford , 9. Peter Stringer , 1. Nathan Catt , 2. Rob Webber , 3. David Wilson , 4. Stuart Hooper ( c ) , 5. Dave Attwood , 6. Matt Garvey , 7. Carl Fearns , 8. Leroy Houston

Replacements :16. Ross Batty , 17. Charlie Beech , 18. Juan Pablo Orlandi , 19. Dominic Day , 20. Mat Gilbert , 21. Martin Roberts , 22. Tom Heathcote , 23. Anthony Watson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.