Argentina name experienced team to face England

Argentina coach Daniel Hourcade has named a team filled with experience to face England at Twickenham on Saturday.

Hourcade’s Argentina starting team boasts 417 Test caps and is his first team since he took over from Santiago Phelan two weeks ago.

The starting team has five changes to the one that lost 17-54 to Australian in their last outing in the Rugby Championship.

Maximiliano Bustos has replaced prop Juan Figallo due to injury in the front
row while Eusebio Guinazu retains his place in the team.

Worcester’s Agustin Creevy was expected to start the Test but had to withdraw
with an injury so Guinazu retained his place.

Former Leicester Tigers back Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino starts at fullback in
place of Juan Martin Hernandez who is injured.

Santiago Fernandez starts at inside centre in place of Felipe Contepomi who
retired at the end of the Rugby Championship.

At scrumhalf Hourcade has opted to start Tomas Cubelli instead of Martin Landajo.

Juan Manuel Leguizamon will captain the team as Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe
is out injured with a fractured elbow.

“It’s important to have experience in many areas of the team,” Hourcade
said after announcing his team on Tuesday.

“We’re building for the 2015 World Cup (in England) and the young players
can learn from the more experienced ones.”

After England beat Australia 20-13 at Twickenham last weekend, Red Rose coach
Stuart Lancaster said he expected a stronger challenge at the scrum from the
Pumas’ celebrated pack than the one offered by the Wallaby forwards.

But with Argentina having finished bottom of the Rugby Championship, a tournament
won by world champions New Zealand and also including South Africa and Australia,
Hourcade wants the Pumas to show there is more to their game than traditional
forward power alone.

“We are going to be more offensive and attack England a little bit more
than we usually do,” said Hourcade, who will be coaching the Pumas for
the first time in a test match after replacing Santiago Phelan, who stepped
down last month.

“England played a tighter game against Australia, but they will be more
open against us.”

Argentina also play Wales in Cardiff on November 16 and Italy in Rome a week


15 Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino, 14 Horacio Agulla, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Santiago Fernandez, 11 Juan Imhoff, 10 Nicolas Sanchez, 9 Tomas Cubelli; 1 Marcos Ayerza 2 Eusebio Guinazu, 3 Maximiliano Bustos, 4 Mariano Galarza, 5 Patricio Albacete, 6 Pablo Matera, 7 Julio Farias Cabello, 8 Juan Manuel Leguizamon (captain),

Replacements: 16 Santiago Iglesias Valdez, 17 Nahuel Lobo, 18 Juan Pablo Orlandi, 19 Manuel Carizza, 20 Benjamin Macome, 21 Martin Landajo, 22 Gonzalo Tiesi, 23 Santiago Cordero

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.