Chiefs name 2014 Super Rugby Squad

Chiefs coaches Dave Rennie, Tom Coventry, Wayne Smith and Andrew Strawbridge have announced their squad for the 2014 Super Rugby competition.

The back-to-back Super Rugby champions have named thirteen new recruits for 2014 which includes seven players who will be involved in Super Rugby for the first time, having earned selection from the ITM Cup.

Chiefs coach Dave Rennie believes his squad will be an effective blend of experienced proven performers and new talent. The squad contains five current All Blacks, five Maori All Blacks and 26 players who have previously been involved in winning a Super Rugby title.

“We are really happy. We have a solid core of players who have been a big part of our success over the past two years and added both youth and experience to the mix.

“It’s a very tough competition, so we’re rapt we’ve been able to assemble a group of men high on character and work ethic,” said Rennie.

The majority of the squad will assemble on Thursday 28 November and will be joined by the Maori All Blacks in mid December and the All Blacks in late January 2014.

In a new initiative the Chiefs are progressing with the possibility of playing Toulon in France as part of their pre-season campaign but there are still a few boxes to tick. The Chiefs are expected to finalize their pre-season matches in the coming weeks.

The Chiefs will kick off their Super rugby season against the Crusaders on Friday 21 February in Christchurch and will play their first home game against the Highlanders in Hamilton on Saturday 1 March.

Chiefs 2014 Super Rugby Squad

Ben Afeaki, Bundee Aki , Gareth Anscombe, Sam Cane , Nick Crosswell , Aaron Cruden , Hikawera Elliot, Ross Filipo , Mike Fitzgerald, Robbie Fruean, Josh Hohneck, Andrew Horrell , Tawera Kerr-Barlow , Tanerau Latimer , James Lowe, Jamie Mackintosh, Pauliasi Manu, Rhys Marshall , Tom Marshall, Liam Messam , Mils Muliaina, Tim Nanai-Williams , Charlie Ngatai , Augustine Pulu , Brodie Retallick, Robbie Robinson , Mahonri Schwalger , Liam Squire, Matthew Symons, Ben Tameifuna , Kane Thompson, Asaeli Tikoirotuma

Wider Training Group
Carl Axtens, Nick Barrett, Anton Lienert-Brown, Tevita Kolomatangi, Brad Weber


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.