Exeter Chiefs cruise past Worcester at Sandy Park

Exeter Chiefs added to Worcester Warriors problems when they gave them their sixth straight defeat and a 40-6 loss at Sandy Park.

Exeter scored two tries in the first-half through Ben White and Dean Mumm, while Ignacio Mieres kicked two penalties for Worcester, as the hosts took a 14-6 lead at the break.

White went over for his second score before Phil Dollman, Damian Welch and Haydn Thomas completed a convincing win for the Chiefs.

The Warriors have endured a torrid start to the campaign, losing all their games in the Premiership so far, and Exeter continued that misery from the start.

As has been the case with the hosts over recent times, they showed intent and vigour from the off. Just five minutes had elapsed when a dominant driving maul ended in White crossing the whitewash before a Mieres penalty closed the gap to four points.

However, the Chiefs continued to dominate and a superb move, which was started by Dollman and involved Dave Lewis and Gareth Steenson, ended in Mumm touching down.

To their credit, the visitors fought back and pushed Rob Baxter’s men onto the back foot, but a second three-pointer from their fly-half was all they had to show for their efforts.

Exeter started the second half much like the first and White’s second score, plus Steenson’s third conversion of the game, eased them out to a 21-6 advantage.

Dollman’s effort sealed the bonus-point before a fifth try, this time from second-rower Welch, took the encounter to 33-6 in the home team’s favour. And Thomas latched onto Henry Slade’s fine break to complete the scoring.

Final Score Exeter Chiefs 40 Worcester Warriors 6


Tries: White 2, Mumm, Dollman, Welch, Thomas
Con: Steenson 4, Slade

Pen: Mieres 2

Match Officials
JP Doyle (67th Premiership game).
Assistant Referees: Paul Huckle and Andrew Pearce
TMO: David Sainsbury.


Exeter Chiefs

15 Phil Dollman , 14 Fetu’u Vainikolo , 13 Jason Shoemark , 12 Sam Hill , 11 Matt Jess , 10 Gareth Steenson , 9 Dave Lewis, 1 Brett Sturgess , 2 Jack Yeandle , 3 Hoani Tui , 4 Dean Mumm (capt) , 5 Damian Welch , 6 Tom Johnson , 7 Ben White , 8 Dave Ewers

Replacements : 16 Chris Whitehead , 17 Ben Moon , 18 Alex Brown , 19 Don Armand , 20 Kai Horstmann , 21 Haydn Thomas , 22 Henry Slade , 23 Tom James

Worcester Warriors

15 Chris Pennell , 14 Dean Hammond , 13 Alex Grove , 12 Josh Matavesi , 11 David Lemi , 10 Ignacio Mieres , 9 Jonny Arr,1 Ofa Fainga’anuku , 2 Agustin Creevy , 3 Euan Murray , 4 Dean Schofield , 5 Mariano Galarza , 6 Richard de Carpentier , 7 Jake Abbott , 8 Jonathan Thomas (c)

Replacements: 16 Chris Brooker , 17 Jeremy Becasseau , 18 Rob O’Donnell , 19 Mike Williams , 20 Chris Jones , 21 Jeremy Su’u , 22 Paul Warwick , 23 Ben Howard

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.