Harlequins ease past Sale Sharks in Premiership

Harlequins secured their third victory from six matches when the eased past Sale Sharks 24-3 at the Twickenham Stoop.

Three Ben Botica penalties to Danny Cipriani’s one saw Quins take a 9-3 lead into the interval before Luke Wallace’s early second-half try extended their advantage.

Botica added a fourth three-pointer and Jack Clifford touched down to seal an important win.

The hosts went into the game decimated by a number of injuries and international call-ups while their opponents, who have started the season well, were close to full strength.

However, it was the London-based outfit that dominated the opening stages of the half, with their off-loading game to the fore.

But Sale resisted the barrage well and Botica’s penalty was their only reward for the possession and territory they had enjoyed.

The Sharks gradually grew into the match, though, and Cipriani levelled proceedings after 25 minutes with a three-pointer of his own.

Quins then went back on the front foot and successive penalties from their centre gave them a 9-3 advantage at the interval.

Although the visitors started the second period well, after a Rob Miller break threatened the hosts’ rearguard, an excellent piece of skill saw Conor O’Shea’s men open up a comfortable gap when Nick Evans’ cross-kick found Wallace who touched down.

Botica missed the conversion, but the New Zealander was soon on target again with a fourth penalty of the afternoon.

And Clifford sealed a crucial win after charging down Joe Ford’s attempted clearance to run over unopposed.

Final Score Harlequins 24 Sale Sharks 3


Tries: Wallace, Clifford
Con: Botica
Pen: Botica 4

Sale Sharks
Pen: Cipriani

Match Officials
: Luke Pearce (18th Premiership game).
Assistant Referees: Ashley Rowden and Stuart Terheege
TMO: Graham Hughes.



15. Tom Williams , 14. Ugo Monye , 13. Matt Hopper , 12. Ben Botica , 11. Sam Smith , 10. Nick Evans , 9. Karl Dickson,1. Mark Lambert , 2. Dave Ward , 3. Will Collier , 4. Nick Easter (C) , 5. George Robson , 6. Joe Trayfoot , 7. Luke Wallace , 8. Tom Guest

16. Harry Allen , 17. Darryl Marfo , 18. Kyle Sinckler , 19. George Merrick , 20. Jack Clifford , 21. Danny Care , 22. Paul Sackey , 23. Charlie Walker

Sale Sharks

Rob Miller, Tom Arscott, Jonny Leota, Sammy Tuitupou, Mark Cueto, Danny Cipriani, Dwayne Peel, Eifion Lewis Roberts, Tommy Taylor, Henry Thomas, Jonathan Mills, Andrei Ostrikov, Dan Braid, David Seymour, Mark Easter

Replacements Marc Jones, Ross Harrison, Vadim Cobilas, Kirill Kulemin, Tom Holmes, Will Cliff, Joe Ford, Andy Forsyth

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.