Western Province unchanged for Currie Cup final

Western Province Currie Cup coach Allister Coetzee has named an unchanged line-up for Saturday’s Currie Cup final against the Sharks in Cape Town.

“Being at Newlands is fantastic and great, but there are no guarantees,” coach Allister Coetzee said on Wednesday.

“We have to be even better than we were in last Saturday’s semi-final against the Lions. We have to start better and we have to stay in it for 80 minutes.”

Captain Deon Fourie, who was left with a painful shoulder after Province’s 33-16 semi-final win over the Golden Lions last week, was declared fit to face the Durbanites.

Springbok skipper Jean de Villiers would once again serve as the team’s vice-captain for the match.

De Villiers starts in the number 13 jersey in what would also be his 50th match for Western Province.

Western Province

Gio Aplon, Gerhard van den Heever, Jean de Villiers, Damian de Allende, Cheslin Kolbe, Demetri Catrakilis, Louis Schreuder, Duane Vermeulen, Siya Kolisi, Deon Fourie (captain), De Kock Steenkamp, Eben Etzebeth, Pat Cilliers, Scarra Ntubeni, Steven Kitshoff.

Replacements: Frans Malherbe, Brok Harris, Michael Rhodes, Schalk Burger, Nic Groom, Kurt Coleman, Juan de Jongh.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.