Northampton leave Ospreys pointless in Europe

Former Heineken Cup champions Northampton Saints bounced back from their defeat last week to Castres by beating the Ospreys 27-16 at Franklin’s Gardens.

The Saints – European champions in 2000 and finalists in 2011 – moved to within a point of three-time winners Leinster, who beat Castres on Saturday, and whom they will face in a double header when the competition resumes in December.

Defeat for Welsh outfit Ospreys leaves them pointless after two games and struggling to reach the quarter-finals despite a side possessing the talents of Wales stars George North, Alun-Wyn Jones and Dan Biggar.

It was fly-half Biggar who got Ospreys back into the match early in the second-half scoring a try which he converted to leave them trailing only 17-14.

However, the hosts replied with a try of their own – their second of the game after lock Christian Day had scored in the first-half – through England fullback Ben Foden, he was at the end of a move which saw Lee Dickson provide the decisive pass for his 14th try in the competition.

Stephen Myler converted for 24-16 and both he and Biggar exchanged penalties, although Saints may come to rue not grabbing a bonus point as Dan Pisi was held up yards short of the line.

Man of the match Courtney Lawes said that they had been highly-motivated to get a win on the board after the opening loss to Castres.

“The boys came out with a great attitude and we replicated that in the way we played,” he said.

“Twenty tackles from me I’ll take that! Just happens a lot of people ran into me!”

Ospreys captain Alun-Wyn Jones said his side had improved on their performance from the opening home defeat against Leinster.

“This week it was a case of a little chat and more work,” he said.

“The result didn’t go our way but I’m proud of the guys.

“We have to be candid and admit there is a mountain to climb to qualify but we won’t give up.”

Final Score Northampton (17) 27 Ospreys (6) 16


Tries: Manoa, Day, Foden
Cons: Myler 3
Pen: Myler 2

Tries: Biggar
Cons: Biggar
Pens: Biggar

Match Officials
Alain Rolland (Ireland), Assistant ref: Stuart Gaffikin (Ireland), Assistant ref: Jonathan Peak (Ireland), TMO: Simon McDowell (Ireland), Citing Commissioner: Eddie Walsh (Ireland)

Northampton Saints: Ben Foden; Jamie Elliott, George Pisi, Luther Burrell, George North; Steve Myler, Lee Dickson; Alex Waller, Dylan Hartley (c), Salesi Ma’afu, Courtney Lawes, Christian Day, Tom Wood, Phil Dowson, Samu Manoa

Replacements: Mikey Haywood, Ethan Waller, Gareth Denman, Gerrit-Jan van Velze, Calum Clark, Kahn Fotuali’i, James Wilson, Ken Pisi

Ospreys: Richard Fussell; Jeff Hassler, Andrew Bishop, Ashley Beck, Eli Walker; Dan Biggar, Thomas Habberfield; Ryan Bevington, Richard Hibbard, Adam Jones, Alun Wyn Jones (c), James King, Ryan Jones, Justin Tipuric, Joe Bearman

Replacements: Scott Baldwin, Duncan Jones, Aaron Jarvis, Tyler Ardron, Morgan Allen, Sam Lewis, Tito Tebaldi, Matthew Morgan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.