Griquas make three Currie Cup changes for Cheetahs

Griquas coach Pote Human has made three changes to his run-on side for their Currie Cup match with the Free State Cheetahs on Saturday afternoon in Kimberley.

Human has borrowed tight-head prop Nico Pretorius from the Valke for their tussle with their neighbouring union after another player, Ewald van der Westhuizen, returned to the University of Johannesburg (UJ) earlier in the week.

UJ decided not to make Van der Westhuizen available for the game.

Van der Westhuizen’s contribution was one of the few positives the Griquas could draw from their 52-10 hammering against the Blue Bulls last weekend.

Pretorius, who arrived in Kimberley on Thursday, needs to familiarise himself with both the calls in the line-outs, as well as needing to incorporate himself into the team, less than 48 hours before kick-off against the Bloemfontein outfit.

“It is difficult for us, because we bargained on having Ewald available for this weekend’s game as well,” Human said ahead of the derby match.

“But now we welcome Nico, who has proved himself for the Valke in the last couple of seasons.

“He showed in the First Division of the Currie Cup that he is a good scrummer and we will look to him to bolster the scrums against Free State.”

Human also handed new lock Dalton Davis his first start in this year’s competition, while relegating Australian lock Rory Arnold to the replacements’ bench.

“Dalton is a promising player and deserves a chance to prove himself,” Human added.

“We hoped that Ligtoring Landman would be available for the game against the Cheetahs, but he still has some discomfort after recovering from a broken hand.”

In the final change among the forwards, young RJ Liebenberg comes in for the injured Burger Schoeman at flank.

“RJ also gets his first start in the Currie Cup for Griquas and we know he will make the best of it,” Human said of the youngster.

With Pretorius’s inclusion at tight-head prop, Brummer Badenhorst finds himself back among the replacements.


Gouws Prinsloo, Richard Lawson, JP Nel, Howard Mnisi, Rocco Jansen, Francois Brummer, Marnus Hugo, Leon Karemaker, RJ Liebenberg, Marnus Schoeman, Jaco Nepgen, Dalton Davis, Nico Pretorius, Ryno Barnes (capt), Steph Roberts.

Replacements: Matt Dobson, Brummer Badenhorst, Rory Arnold, Patrick O’Brien, Jacques Coetzee, Du Randt Gerber, Jean Stemmet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.