Saracens come from behind to beat Harlequins

Saracens held on to their unbeaten status in the Aviva Premiership when they came from behind to beat Harlequins 12-22 at the Stoop.

Saracens went into the match with three bonus point wins from three matches but this week Chris Ashton scored the only try of the match.

Both teams headed into the game in good form, with Harlequins having comfortably
dispatched of Worcester, and Saracens sweeping all before them in the opening
weeks of the new season.

The first points of the afternoon came just four minutes after the kick-off
as Nick Evans punished home indiscipline to boot his team in front.

He added a second three-pointer less than ten minutes later after Sarries’
Alex Goode had been dispatched to the sin-bin.

Owen Farrell hit back quickly to reduce the deficit to three points with his
first penalty of the afternoon, and he added a second just three minutes before
half-time, though it was sandwiched between two more from Evans, making it 12-6
to Harlequins at half-time.

But Sarries emerged for the second-half in ruthless mood, and an efficient
display in attack coupled with a stern defensive performance steered them to

The game’s first and only try was scored by Chris Ashton on 51 minutes after
the TMO ruled that a pass in the build-up did not go forward.

Farrell added the conversion and he kicked three further penalties in the 15
minutes that followed to put further daylight between the two sides.

Quins rallied and pushed for the points they needed to get back into the game,
but Sarries had the answer to the hosts’ questions, and held on for an important
win to continue their strong start to the new season.

Jacques Burger was named man of the match.

Final Score Harlequins 12 (12) Saracens 22 (6)


Tries –
Pen – Evans (4)
Con –
Drop –

Tries – Ashton
Pen – Farrell (5)
Con – Farrell
Drop –

Match Officials
: Martin Fox (94th Premiership game)
Assistant Referees: Gareth Copsey and Andy Watson
TMO: Sean Davey.



15. Mike Brown, 14. Tom Williams, 13. George Lowe, 12. Tom Casson, 11. Ugo Monye, 10. Nick Evans, 9. Danny Care, 8. Tom Guest, 7. Chris Robshaw (C), 6. Maurie Fa’asavalu, 5. George Robson, 4. Nick Easter, 3. Will Collier, 2. Rob Buchanan,1. Joe Marler

Replacements; 16. Dave Ward, 17. Mark Lamber, 18. Kyle Sinckler, 19. George Merrick, 20. Luke Wallace, 21. Karl Dickson, 22. Ben Botica, 23. Matt Hopper


1. M. Vunipola, 2. Brits, 3. Stevens, 4. Borthwick (c), 5. Kruis, 6. Brown, 7. Burger, 8. B. Vunipola; 9. Wigglesworth, 10. Farrell; 11. Strettle, 12. Taylor, 13. Wyles, 14. Ashton; 15. Goode

Replacements :16. George, 17. Auterac, 18. Johnston, 19.Hargreaves, 20. Wray, 21. De Kock, 22. Tagicakibau, 23. Wilson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.