Five try Leicester Tigers blow Newcastle away

Leicester Tigers recovered from last week’s loss to Bath by beating Newcastle Falcons 31-6 with a bonus point in the Aviva Premiership at Welford Road.

Jordan Crane, Graham Kitchener and Blaine Scully all went over for the Tigers
in the first half as they opened up a 17-6 advantage, with Rory Clegg responding
for Newcastle.

Further converted scores from Dan Bowden and Thomas Waldrom in the second period
sealed the win and continued their solid start to the campaign.

The Tigers have yet to fully ignite this season and went down 27-20 to Bath
last week, but they have been hampered by injuries to key players.

And with Manu Tuilagi, Toby Flood and Ben Youngs all returning for the visit
of Newcastle, it looked an uphill struggle for the newly promoted side from
the outset.

That was evident in the opening 15 minutes as Richard Cockerill’s men took
a 12-0 lead. Firstly, Crane powered over from close-range before a burst from
Tuilagi ended in Kitchener touching down, with Flood converting.

But to their credit, the Falcons fought back and Clegg kicked two three-pointers
– the second a drop-goal – to reduce the arrears to 12-6.

However, Leicester restored their dominance when Scully scampered across the
whitewash for his first Premiership try in a Tigers’ shirt to ease them clear
at the interval.

Newcastle battled bravely early in the second period but the home side’s quality
eventually told as Bowden secured the bonus-point.

It got worse for the visitors as Kieran Brookes was sin-binned for a late hit
in the lead up to the fourth score, and Waldrom added to Falcons’ misery with
a fifth try.

Final Score Leicester Tigers 31 (17) Newcastle 6 (6)


Leicester Tigers
Tries – Crane, Kitchener, Scully, Bowden, Waldrom
Pen –
Con – Flood (2), Williams
Drop –

Tries –
Pen – Clegg
Con –
Drop – Clegg

Match Officials
: David Rose (113th Premiership game)
Assistant Referees: Roger Baileff and Peter Huckle
TMO: Keith Lewis.


Leicester Tigers

15 Blaine Scully, 14 Vereniki Goneva, 13 Manusamoa Tuilagi, 12 Dan Bowden, 11 Adam Thompstone, 10 Toby Flood (c), 9 Ben Youngs, 1 Boris Stankovich, 2 Neil Briggs, 3 Logovi’i Mulipola, 4 Ed Slater, 5 Graham Kitchener, 6 Thomas Waldrom, 7 Jamie Gibson, 8 Jordan Crane

Replacements: 16 Tom Youngs, 17 Tom Bristow, 18 Dan Cole, 19 Geoff Parling, 20 Julian Salvi, 21 David Mele, 22 Owen Williams, 23 Niall Morris

Newcastle Falcons

15 Alex Tait, 14 Noah Cato, 13 Adam Powell, 12 James Fitzpatrick, 11 Tom Catterick, 10 Rory Clegg, 9 Warren Fury, 1 Franck Montanella, 2 Rob Vickers, 3 Kieran Brookes, 4 Carlo del Fava, 5 Dominic Barrow, 6 Mark Wilson, 7 Will Welch (c), 8 Chris York

Replacements: 16 Matt Thompson, 17 Gary Strain, 18 Scott Wilson, 19 Sean Tomes, 20 Andy Saull, 21 Chris Pilgrim, 22 Joel Hodgson, 23 Alex Crockett

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.