Unbeaten Western Province edge Griquas

Western Province were made to work to keep their unbeaten status in the Currie Cup when they beat Griquas 19-13 at a chilly and wet Newlands on Friday.

WP were forced to make pre-match changes to their match-day squad after flank Rynhardt Elstadt picked up a shoulder injury at Thursday’s training session at Newlands.

WP under-21 skipper Rayn Smid was promoted from the substitutes’ bench into the run-on XV.

Despite the soggy underfoot conditions, WP ran the ball at every opportunity in the opening 20 minutes, but were thwarted short of the Griquas tryline.

WP Flyhalf Kurt Coleman slotted two penalties and Francois Brummer struck added one for the visitors, before Griquas scored against the run of play through Nico Scheepers’ try, which he converted himself, after the WP defence were unable to gather a grubber kick.

The hosts’ Gerhard van den Heever was yellow-carded six minutes ahead of the break by referee Lourens van der Merwe, who adjudged the winger to have thrown a punch as he was tackled by the Griquas defence.

WP tried to repair the damage by continuing to run hard with ball-in-hand, but were forced to retreat to the change rooms trailing 10-6.

The 14-man WP resumed play with an even greater sense of urgency when the second half got under way, regaining the lead by the 49th minute.

First Coleman fired over a penalty and then scrumhalf Nic Groom darted in for WP’s first try of the night.

Coleman’s conversion gave WP a 16-10 lead.

As the match approached the hour mark, the heavens opened at Newlands, ensuring a tight finish that would be contested by the forwards.

Griquas were awarded two penalties in quick succession in the WP area, but only succeeded with one goal, when fullback Gouws Prinsloo was on target and brought the visitors within three at 16-13.

WP responded with series of attacks in the Griquas’ 22-metre area.

With 12 minutes to go, Griquas’ cover defence twice pushed WP out at the corner flags and held on to keep themselves in the game.

WP substitute flyhalf Demetri Catrakilis stroked over a penalty shortly before the final whistle to wrap-up the scoring, edging Griquas 19-13, to remain unbeaten in the competition.

Final Score Western Province 19 Griquas 13


Western Province
Try: Nic Groom
Conversion: Kurt Coleman
Penalties: Kurt Coleman (3), Demetri Catrakilis.


Try: Nico Scheepers
Conversion: Nico Scheepers
Penalties: Francois Brummer, Gouws Prinsloo

Match Officials
: Lourens van der Merwe
Assistant Referees: Jonathan Kaplan, Marc van Zyl
TMO: Shaun Veldsman

Western Province: Gio Aplon; Gerhard van den Heever, Juan de Jongh, Damian de Allende, Cheslin Kolbe; Kurt Coleman, Nic Groom; Nizaam Carr, Rynhardt Elstadt, Rohan Kitshoff; De Kock Steenkamp (capt), Taz Fuzani; Pat Cilliers, Scarra Ntubeni, Steven Kitshoff.

Replacements: Michael Willemse, Brok Harris, Gerbrandt Grobler, Rayn Smid, Josh Katzen, Louis Schreuder, Demetri Catrakilis.

Griquas: Gouws Prinsloo; Nico Scheepers, Jean Stemmet, Howard Mnisi, Rocco Jansen; Francois Brummer, Jacques Coetzee; Leon Karemaker, Burger Schoeman, Marnus Schoeman; Jaco Nepgen, Rory Arnold; Nick Schonert, Ryno Barnes (capt), Steph Roberts.

Replacements: Matthew Dobson, Brummer Badenhorst, Patrick O’Brien, RJ Liebenberg, Marnus Hugo, Du Randt Gerber, Richard Lawson.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.