Exeter Chiefs secure first Premiership victory

Exeter Chiefs bounced back from their loss last week to Northampton by beating London Wasps 30-26 at Sandy Park.

Tom James scored two tries as the Exeter Chiefs secured their first win of
the campaign.

Both sides were looking to respond to first day losses, but it was Exeter who
went into the interval 16-12 ahead through James’ first try and the boot of
Gareth Steenson.

Andy Goode kicked four penalties to keep Wasps in the game before the Chiefs
pulled away in the second period with James Scaysbrook and their Welsh winger
going over.

Christian Wade and Ashley Johnson crossed late on for a losing bonus-point,
but the visitors still succumbed to their second consecutive loss.

The hosts were surprisingly disappointing in their opening Aviva Premiership
encounter, going down 38-11 to Northampton Saints.

And they found themselves 6-0 behind early on here as Goode, who missed a
last-gasp conversion in round one’s 16-15 defeat to Harlequins, was on target
twice inside the first 10 minutes.

However, the Chiefs responded with a three-pointer of their own through Steenson
before James ignored a three-on-one to finish off a well worked move.

After the respective fly-halves had traded penalties Wasps’ Johnson was sin-binned
for a high tackle.

Steenson slotted the resultant opportunity, but the visitors responded well
to being a man down when Goode converted his fourth from the tee to reduce the
arrears to 16-12 at the break.

But Rob Baxter’s men upped the intensity in the second period and Scaysbrook
went over for the Chiefs’ second try.

James then crossed the whitewash to take them 30-12 ahead with 20 minutes remaining
and, although Wade and Johnson touched down to give Wasps a glimmer of hope,
they ran out of time.

Final Score Exeter Chiefs 30 (16) London Wasps 26 (12)


Exeter Chiefs
Tries – James (2), Scaysbrook
Pen – Steenson (3)
Con – Steenson (3)
Drop –

London Wasps
Tries – Wade, Johnson
Pen – Goode (4)
Con – Goode
Drop –

Match Officials
Martin Fox (92nd Premiership game)
Assistant Referees: Roger Baileff and Peter Huckle
TMO: Geoff Warren.


Exeter Chiefs

15 Phil Dollman 14 Ian Whitten 13 Sam Hill 12 Jason Shoemark 11 Tom James 10 Gareth Steenson 9 Haydn Thomas 1 Brett Sturgess 2 Jack Yeandle 3 Hoani Tui 4 Dean Mumm (capt) 5 Damian Welch 6 Tom Johnson 7 James Scaysbrook 8 Dave Ewers

Replacements : 16 Chris Whitehead 17 Ben Moon 18 Craig Mitchell 19 Tom Hayes 20 Ben White 21 Dave Lewis 22 Henry Slade 23 Matt Jess

London Wasps

15 Andrea Masi , 14 Christian Wade , 13 Chris Bell (captain), 12 Charlie Hayter , 11 Josh Bassett , 10 Andy Goode , 9 Joe Simpson , 8 Ed Jackson , 7 Sam Jones , 6 Ashley Johnson , 5 Tom Palmer , 4 Joe Launchbury , 3 Jake Cooper-Woolley, 2 Tom Lindsay, 1 Matt Mullan

Replacements:16 Neil Cochrane , 17 Simon McIntyre , 18 Will Taylor , 19 James Cannon , 20 Guy Thompson , 21 Charlie Davies , 22 Tommy Bell, 23 Ben Jacobs

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.