Northampton beat Harlequins at the Stoop

Northampton Saints secured their first victory at the Twickenham Stoop since 2010 when they beat Harlequins 6-13 in the Aviva Premiership on Friday.

The Saints scored the only try of the match in the second half when Kiwi centre James Wilson scored in the corner for the visitors.

Northampton headed into the game on the back of a comfortable opening-day
win over Exeter, while Quins were also on a high following the narrowest of
victories away at Wasps.

Opportunities were few and far between during the opening exchanges and it
was clear from the first kick that there would be little between the teams on
the night.

The deadlock was broken by Northampton on 11 minutes when Stephen Myler demonstrated
a keen eye for goal after Nick Evans had spurned the opportunity to boot Quins
in front just a few minutes earlier.

Evans would eventually make amends on the half-hour when he was on target to
level the scores, and it remained all square as the teams headed down the tunnel
for half-time.

Evans added his second penalty goal of the evening five minutes into the second-half
to put Harlequins in front, but that would be the last time the hosts would
trouble the scorers.

Myler responded in kind to level the scores less than ten minutes later, and
the 63rd minute brought the game’s first and only try.

Wilson was the man to get over the line, crashing through out wide after a
Harlequins kick was charged down.

Myler was on target with the conversion to establish a seven-point advantage
for the visitors, who showed enough steel in defence to keep their opponents
at arms length during the final minutes to see out the win.

Final Score Harlequins 6 (3) Northampton Saints 13 (3)


Tries –
Pen – Evans 2
Con –
Drop –

Northampton Saints
Tries – J.Wilson
Pen – S.Myler
Con – S.Myler
Drop –

Match Officials
: Andrew Small (87th Premiership game).
Assistant Referees: Kevin Stewart and Nigel Carrick
TMO: David Grashoff.



15. Mike Brown , 14. Tom Williams , 13. George Lowe , 12. Tom Casson , 11. Ugo Monye , 10. Nick Evans , 9. Danny Care, 8. Nick Easter, 7. Chris Robshaw (C) , 6. Maurie Fa’asavalu , 5. George Robson , 4. George Merrick , 3. Paul Doran Jones , 2. Joe Gray, 1. Joe Marler

Replacements: 16. Rob Buchanan , 17. Mark Lambert , 18. Will Collier , 19. Tom Guest , 20. Luke Wallace , 21. Karl Dickson , 22. Ben Botica , 23. Sam Smith

Northampton Saints

15 Ben Foden, 14 Ken Pisi, 13 James Wilson, 12 Luther Burrell, 11 George North, 10 Stephen Myler, 9 Kahn Fotuali’i, 8 Samu Manoa, 7 Calum Clark, 6 Tom Wood, 5 Christian Day, 4 Courtney Lawes, 3 Tom Mercey, 2 Dylan Hartley (c), 1 Alex Corbisiero.

Replacements: 16 Mike Haywood, 17 Alex Waller, 18 Gareth Denman, 19 Sam Dickinson, 20 Phil Dowson, 21 Lee Dickson, 22 George Pisi, 23 Jamie Elliott.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.