WP hold on to beat Griquas in Currie Cup

Western Province held on to beat Griquas 19-20 in their Currie Cup match at GWK Park in Kimberley on Saturday.

The Peacock Blues last beat Province in 2009 and had to be content with a single bonus point for losing within the seven point margin.

Griquas applied some good pressure early on, but the momentum shifted to Western Province when flanker and captain Deon Fourie broke away from a maul and ran 70 metres to score against the run of play. Fly half Kurt Coleman converted.

The visitors kept on attacking and twice decided to kick out rather than take the shot at goal. Both times, the Griquas defence kept them at bay. The hosts also put Province under immense pressure in the scrums and collected valuable penalties as a result.

Coleman settled things down a bit by kicking his first penalty of the afternoon four minutes before half time and helping his side to a score of 10-3 at the break.

Griquas drew first blood in the second half after some good pressure resulted in a converted penalty by winger Nico Scheepers, his second of the afternoon. The visitors got another penalty soon after but chose to kick for touch rather than take the points.

Province did let up on the attack and progressed to the hosts’ goal line. Finally Coleman got his shot at goal and stretched his side’s lead to seven points. Scheepers kicked another fine effort shortly after to reduce the deficit back to four, leaving the hosts with everything to play for and 24 minutes remaining.

Western Province winger Cheslin Kolbe produced some magic in the final 20 minutes, chasing a kick and scoring under the uprights, but his try got cancelled because of a shoulder charge by Juan de Jongh on a Griquas player.

De Jongh however made amends by scoring under the uprights after collecting a grubber. Coleman converted to give Province a lead of 11 points.

Scheepers and Griquas full back PJ Vermeulen had the last say of the game. Scheepers kicked a penalty and Vermeulen rounded off a good try, but the game will go down in history as one that the hosts lost due to a lack of ball retention.

Final Score Western Province 20 (10) Griquas 19 (3)


Western Province
Tries: Deon Fourie, Juan de Jongh
Conversions: Kurt Coleman (2)
Penalties: Kurt Coleman (2).

Try: PJ Vermeulen
Conversion: Du Randt Gerber
Penalties: Nico Scheepers (4).

Match Officials
: Sindile Mayende
Assistant Referees: Ben Crouse, Francois de Bruin
TMO: Gerrie Coetzee


Griquas: PJ Vermeulen; Nico Scheepers, JP Nel, Howard Mnisi, Rocco Jansen; Francois Brummer, Marnus Hugo; Leon Karemaker, Hilton Lobberts, Carel Greeff; Jonathan Adendorf, Jaco Nepgen, Nico Schonert, Ryno Barnes (Capt), Steph Roberts.

Replacements: Matthew Dobson, Brummer Badenhorst, RJ Liebenberg, Burger Schoeman, Jacques Coetzee, Du Randt Gerber, Richard Lawson.

Western Province: Gio Aplon; Gerhard van den Heever, Juan de Jongh, Damian de Allende, Cheslin Kolbe; Kurt Coleman, Louis Schreuder; Nizaam Carr, Rynhardt Elstadt, Deon Fourie; De Kock Steenkamp, Michael Rhodes; Pat Cilliers, Scarra Ntubeni, Steven Kitshoff.

Replacements: Tiaan Liebenberg, Brok Harris, Gerbrandt Grobler, Rohan Kitshoff, Nic Groom, Tim Swiel, Ryan Nell.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.