W.P start De Jongh in Currie Cup against Griquas

Springbok centre Juan de Jongh has been brought straight back into the Western Province starting line-up for Saturday’s Currie Cup meeting with GWK Griquas in Kimberley

De Jongh, who was released from the Bok squad at the weekend, replaces Pat Howard in the No.13 jersey, the latter dropping out with a slight hamstring strain.

In one other injury-related change in the backline from Saturday’s 15-14 win over the FS Cheetahs, Gary van Aswegen (shoulder) has not been passed fit, with Kurt Coleman taking over at flyhalf in what will be his first Currie Cup start.

Coleman, however, has 29 WP caps, at Currie Cup  and VC level, and has also made six Super Rugby appearances for the Stormers since 2011.

In a final change to the WP starting XV this week, Springbok prop Pat Cilliers will make his first start for the Cape side, after two appearances off the bench, with recent centurion Brok Harris reverting to the bench.

And joining Harris on the bench in Kimberley will be WP Under-21 flyhalf Tim Swiel, one of four U21 players in this weekend’s matchday squad. Swiel will make his senior Currie Cup debut for Province should he take the field on Saturday.

“We know it’s going to be one massive battle (in Kimberley),” WP coach Allister Coetzee said on the Western Province site.

“We’ve got to keep our approach the same. It’s got to be physical and direct. It’s going to be a battle at the gainline, so it’s important that we get dominance and earn the right to take it wide.

“For us it’s about building momentum and not letting slip the things that we’ve improved on last week. That’s what consistency is about and that’s what you need in this competition whether you’re (at) home or away from home.”

Western Province

15. Gio Aplon , 14. Gerhard van den Heever , 13. Juan de Jongh , 12. Damian de Allende , 11. Cheslin Kolbe , 10. Kurt Coleman (First Currie Cup start for WP) , 9. Louis Schreuder (vice-captain) , 8. Nizaam Carr , 7. Rynhardt Elstadt , 6. Deon Fourie (c) , 5. De Kock Steenkamp , 4. Michael Rhodes , 3. Pat Cilliers (First Currie Cup start for WP) , 2. Scarra Ntubeni , 1. Steven Kitshoff

Replacements : 16. Tiaan Liebenberg , 17. Brok Harris , 18. Gerbrandt Grobler , 19. Rohan Kitshoff , 20. Nic Groom , 21. Tim Swiel (On Currie Cup debut for WP) , 22. Ryan Nell

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.