Hurricanes name new back three for Chiefs clash

The Hurricanes have named two new faces in their back three to face the Chiefs in a Super Rugby match in Hamilton on Friday.

Matt Proctor and James Marshall will join Julian Savea as the back three combination to take on Super Rugby champions the Chiefs

The starting 15 has a few changes from when the Hurricanes last played (Brumbies – 31 May), with Karl Lowe the only other addition in the openside jersey.

On the bench, Blade Thomson has been bracketed with Faifili Levave (foot). If Thomson is included in the 22 and takes the field, he will be making his Hurricanes and Super Rugby debut.

Alapati Leiua, who has just returned from international duties with Samoa, rounds out the bench.

Players unavailable this week include Andre Taylor (shoulder), Tim Bateman (knee), Jeffery Toomaga-Allen (knee), Motu Matu’u (arm) and Ardie Savea (away with NZU20s).


1. Ben Franks,2. Dane Coles,3. Ben May,4. Jeremy Thrush,5. James Broadhurst,6. Brad Shields,7. Karl Lowe,8. Victor Vito ,9. TJ Perenara,10. Beauden Barrett,11. Julian Savea,12. Reynold Lee-Lo,13. Conrad Smith,14. Matt Proctor,15. James Marshall,

Replacements :16. Ash Dixon,17. Reggie Goodes,18. Mark Reddish,19. Faifili Levave / Blade Thomson,20. Chris Smylie,21. Tusi Pisi,22. Alapati Leiua

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.