Scotland name three new caps for South Africa

Having named six new caps last weekend Scotland have a further three new caps in their team to play South Africa in Nelspruit on Saturday. 

The new caps for this week are Glasgow Warriors trio, full-back Peter Murchie, 27; wing Tommy Seymour, 24; and 26-year-old lock forward Tim Swinson.

They are among seven changes in the starting line-up from the 17-27 loss in Durban as head coach Scott Johnson adheres firmly to his policy of broadening the base of players within the international set-up, while at the same time dealing with a number of injuries.

The other changes see Ruaridh Jackson return at stand-off, his first start since Scotland’s Six Nations Championship victory over Ireland in February with Tom Heathcote rested after his concussion against Samoa; two injury-enforced switches, which see Scott Lawson at hooker for Pat MacArthur and Ryan Wilson, making his first start for Scotland, instead of Kelly Brown at openside; and a new boilerhouse combination with Swinson locking with Jim Hamilton.

Greig Laidlaw Scotland, who has skippered Edinburgh Rugby, takes over the leadership duties for the injured Brown, thus becoming Scotland’s 113th Test match captain. Laidlaw follows in uncle’s footsteps as Scotland captain. 

A further three changes are made on the bench involving Jon Welsh, Alastair Kellock and David Denton.

“I’m hard pressed to remember so many injuries from the one Test match but it’s a fact and we just have to get on with it “, said coach Scott Johnson

“I’d said from before we left Scotland that we wanted to find out about players through this tour and, perhaps, because of circumstances, some of that is being accelerated.

“But there’s no doubt for me that our three new caps, for example, have had strong seasons for Glasgow and have worked really diligently on the training fields out here to earn their chance.

“We’ve faced South Africa a fair bit in the last decade and right now they’re the second best team in the world, playing on their own paddock, and with a win against Italy already under their belts.

“We have to be competitive and, once again, I’ll reiterate that we have to get our accuracy and aggression 100% at breakdown to give ourselves the opportunity.” 

Match Officials
Romain Poite (France). 
Assistant referees: Pascal Gauzere (France) and Neil Hennessy
TMO: To be appointed by SARU


15 Peter Murchie,14 Tommy Seymour , 13 Alex Dunbar , 12 Matt Scott , 11 Sean Lamont ,10 Ruaridh Jackson , 9 Greig Laidlaw (c) , 8 Johnnie Beattie , 7 Ryan Wilson , 6 Alasdair Strokosch , 5 Jim Hamilton, 4 Tim Swinson , 3 Euan Murray , 2 Scott Lawson ,1 Alasdair Dickinson 

Replacements : 16 Stevie Lawrie , 17 Jon Welsh , 18 Moray Low , 19 Alastair Kellock , 20 David Denton, 21 Henry Pyrgos , 22 Peter Horne , 23 Duncan Taylor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.