British & Irish Lions call up Grant for Cian Healy

The British & Irish Lions have called up Scotland prop Ryan Grant as replacement for Ireland’s Cian Healey who is out of the tour.

Grant has been called up for the tour of Australia as cover for Gethin Jenkins
who has been ruled out of the match tomorrow against the Reds due to injury.

Mako Vunipola has replaced Jenkins in the British & Irish Lions team to
play the Reds after Gethin Jenkins suffered tightness in his calf during today’s
captain’s run.

The Saracens prop takes over at loose-head, while Leicester Tigers’ Dan
Cole comes on to the replacements’ bench.

Meanwhile, prop Ryan Grant has been called up from Scotland’s tour of
South Africa.

Grant will fly from Durban this evening and arrive in Brisbane tomorrow following
the injuries to Jenkins and Cian Healy.

The Irishman will return home on Sunday after a scan revealed significant ligament
damage around the ankle. The recovery time is expected to exceed the duration
of the tour.

British & Irish Lions Head Coach Warren Gatland said,”Firstly, our thoughts
are with Cian. It has been a day of mixed emotions for him after being quite
rightly being cleared of foul play but then the scan revealing the extent of
the damage to his ankle. He has made a big contribution on and off the field
in the last two weeks and we wish him well in his recovery.

“Gethin has trained all week but he felt some tightness in his calf today
so it’s right not to play him. We will assess him over the next 24-48
hours but Mako has done well in the last two games and this is another chance
for him to step up.

“Given Cian’s injury we have decided to bring Ryan in. He has played
well in the Pro 12 this season and for Scotland in the Six Nations
and we look forward to him and Alex Corbisiero arriving tomorrow.”

British & Irish Lions versus Queensland Reds

15. Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors/Scotland)
14. Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues/Wales)
13. Manusamoa Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers/England)
12. Jonathan Davies (Scarlets/Wales)
11. Tommy Bowe (Ulster/Ireland)
10. Owen Farrell (Saracens/England)
9. Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers/England)
1. Makovina Vunipola (Saracens/England)
2. Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers/England)
3. Matt Stevens (Saracens/England)
4. Richie Gray (Scotland)
5. Geoff Parling (Leicester Tigers/England)
6. Dan Lydiate (Dragons/Wales)
7. Sam Warburton (Cardiff Blues/Wales)
8. Tangaki Taulupe Faletau (Dragons/Wales)


16. Richard Hibbard (Ospreys/Wales)
17. Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers/England)
18. Adam Jones (Ospreys/Wales)
19. Paul O’Connell (Munster/Ireland)
20. Justin Tipuric (Ospreys/Wales)
21. Conor Murray (Munster/Ireland)
22. Jonathan Sexton (Leinster/Ireland)
23. George North (Scarlets/Wales)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.