Twelve Wallabies in Reds team to face B & I Lions

The Queensland Reds have named a team with twelve Wallabies including Quade
Cooper in the line up to face the British & Irish Lions at Suncorp Stadium
on Saturday.

Despite being without seven current Wallaby squad members, the Reds team still
boasts plenty of international strikepower with nine capped Wallabies chosen
in the starting line-up and a further three on the bench.

Their experience combines for a total of 127 Australian caps while each member
of the starting team for Saturday’s blockbuster clash has also commenced
a Super Rugby match for the Queensland Reds in 2013.

Of those, five players have featured in all 15 regular season Super Rugby matches
to this point, including hooker James Hanson, prop Greg Holmes, backrowers Eddie
Quirk and Jake Schatz, and flyhalf Quade Cooper.

Two players are in line to make their Queensland debuts on Saturday with Super
Rugby capped prop Jono Owen and Reds College member Sam Denny chosen on the

“Playing against The British & Irish Lions is a once in a career
type opportunity, so to be running out in front of a sold-out Suncorp Stadium
crowd on Saturday night will be an experience these 23 players will never forget,”
Reds Director of Coaching Ewen McKenzie said.

“Our approach was always going to be to field as strong a line-up as
possible and I’ve got every confidence in the group we’ve chosen
to go out and compete against a very talented Lions squad.”

The Reds will on Saturday be aiming to become the first Australian provincial
team to beat The British & Irish Lions in a tour-game since Queensland famously
defeated their rivals 15-11 in their opening tour game of 1971.

The loss was only one of two experienced by The British & Irish Lions during
their 26-game 1971 tour with the All Blacks also successful in their second
Test match as part of a four-game series.

The British & Irish Lions rebounded against Queensland twice in 1989 (19-15
v Queensland and 30-6 v Queensland B) before also recording two victories in
2001 (42-8 v Queensland and 83-6 v Queensland President’s XV).

“We’ve spoken as a group about the significance of these opportunities
and there isn’t a player out there who wouldn’t want to replicate
the heroics of the 1971 Queensland side,” McKenzie said.

“History suggests that’s a mammoth challenge, but we’ll go
out there on Saturday with plenty of good intentions and with a commitment to
giving a strong account of ourselves across the entire 80 minutes.”


1. Ben Daley,2. James Hanson ,3. Greg Holmes,4. Adam Wallace-Harrison,5. Ed
O’Donoghue ,6. Eddie Quirk ,7. Beau Robinson ,8. Jake Schatz,9. Nick Frisby
,10. Quade Cooper ,11. Luke Morahan ,12. Anthony Faingaa ,13. Ben Tapuai ,14.
Rod Davies,15. Ben Lucas

Replacements : 16. Albert Anae ,17. Sam Denny ,18. Jono Owen ,19. Radike Samo
,20. Jarrad Butler ,21. Jono Lance ,22. Mike Harris,23. Dom Shipperley

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.