Guilty Henry to apologise to SANZAR Match Officials

Former All Blacks coach Graham Henry escaped serious punishment for criticising
Super Rugby officials after pleading guilty to a misconduct charge.

Henry, who is now an Blues assistant coach in Auckland was let off with a reprimand
and an agreement to issue a public apology.

Jannie Lubbe, the judicial officer with the Super Rugby governing body SANZAR,
said he took into account Henry’s “exemplary record” as a coach for
more than 40 years.

Henry was slapped with a misconduct charge after blasting officials following
the Blues loss to the Crusaders on May 18.

He was particularly critical of television match official (TMO) Keith Brown
after a Blues try was disallowed.

“It was obvious to me. He is probably a blind TMO, is he?”

Henry’s comments breached Sections 8.3 (a) and (e) of the SANZAR Code of Conduct.

Henry also claimed Crusaders prop Wyatt Crockett “got away with murder”
at scrum time and accused officials of failing to police the offside line.

Lubbe said Henry had since written to SANZAR and conceded “his remarks
and comments were inappropriate”.

In releasing his finding, Mr Lubbe ruled the following, “Immediately after
he was advised of the investigation by SANZAR into the alleged breach of the
Code of Conduct, Sir Graham wrote to SANZAR and conceded that his remarks and
comments were inappropriate and he apologised stating that it was never his
intention to offend the officials involved.”

It is important that all involved in the Super Rugby competition should respect,
comply and abide by the SANZAR Code of Conduct.


In considering an appropriate sanction in matters like this, the interests
of SANZAR must be taken into account.


After careful consideration of the remarks/comments, the immediate reaction
and apology, that Sir Graham has never before found himself in a situation like
this and his exemplary record as a rugby coach stretching over 40 years, the
DJO decided to impose the following sanction which was accepted by Sir Graham:


1) Sir Graham Henry is reprimanded for breach of the SANZAR Code of Conduct
and cautioned to refrain from such action in future;


2) He must issue a public apology to SANZAR and the match officials involved.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CAPTCHA *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close