Phipps & Jones start for Rebels against Waratahs

The Melbourne Rebels have named their team to play the Waratahs at at AAMI Park on Friday with Nick Phipps and Luke Jones both returning to the starting side.

James O’Connor was unable to return early from injury; after the decision was made by the medical staff not to risk the 23 year old.

Rebels High Performance Manager, Mark Andrews said the risk was too great at this early stage.

“James was desperate to play, which was admirable. However it would not be in the team’s or player’s best interest to risk further damage when the injury is a significant one, and has not fully healed.”


1. Nic Henderson , 2. Ged Robinson , 3. Laurie Weeks , 4. Hugh Pyle , 5. Luke Jones , 6. Jarrod Saffy , 7. Scott Fuglistaller , 8. Scott Higginbotham (C) , 9. Nick Phipps , 10. Bryce Hegarty , 11. Lachlan Mitchell , 12. Rory Sidey , 13. Mitch Inman , 14. Tom English , 15. Jason Woodward

16. Shota Horie , 17. Paul Alo-Emile , 18. Cadeyrn Neville , 19. Gareth Delve , 20. Nic Stirzaker , 21. James Hilgendorf , 22. Kimami Sitauti

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.