McLeod edges Sale Sharks past London Wasps

Nick McLeod kicked a late penalty to earn Sale Sharks a narrow 21-20 Premiership victory over London Wasps.

The home side got out of the blocks quickly as Tom Brady crossed in the left-hand
corner with just over five minutes gone, finishing off a fine move after an
early period of pressure.

Christian Wade did get the visitors back into the game momentarily midway through
the first half with a typically well-finished try after good work by Joe Simpson
but the flying winger’s 12th try of the season was soon cancelled out.

The impressive Daniel Braid capitalised on an error at a Wasps lineout and
touched down to give his side a hard-earned 12-7 lead at the interval.

Nick Macleod edged the Sharks further in front with a penalty early in the
second half but when Tom Bell converted Wade’s second try of the afternoon before
the hour mark there was just one point in it and a tense final quarter was in

The England winger drew level with the man on the opposite touchline, Tom Varndell,
on 13 tries for the season as he applied the finishing touches to a move started
by a great break from Hugo Southwell.

Bell and Macleod then exchanged penalties shortly afterwards but a yellow card
for replacement Lorenzo Romano left the visitors having to play 10 of the final
15 minutes a man light.

They battled manfully and even took the lead for several minutes thanks to
another Bell penalty but Macleod responded with just five minutes left on the
clock and Sale held on, despite giving Elliott Daly the chance to have a go
at a last-minute long-range penalty, to leapfrog Worcester and finish 10th in
the table.

Final Score Sale Sharks 21 (12) London Wasps 20 (7)


Sale Sharks
Tries: Brady, Braid
Con: Macleod
Pens: Macleod 3

London Wasps
Tries: Wade 2
Cons: Bell 2
Pens: Bell 2

Match Officials
Dean Richards (59th Premiership game)
Assistant Referees: Ashley Rowden and Gordon Goodliffe.


Sale Sharks

Mark Cueto, Will Addison, Johnny Leota, Sam Tuitupou, Tom Brady, Nick Macleod, Dwayne Peel, Alasdair Dickinson, Marc Jones, Henry Thomas, Kearnan Myall, Andrei Ostrikov, Dan Braid, David Seymour Captain, James Gaskell

Replacements: Tommy Taylor, Ross Harrison, Tony Buckley, Tom Holmes, Andy Powell, Nathan Fowles, Sam James, Charlie Amesbury

London Wasps

15 Hugo Southwell (captain) , 14 Tom Varndell , 13 Elliot Daly , 12 Chris Bell , 11 Christian Wade , 10 Tommy Bell , 9 Joe Simpson1 Simon McIntyre , 2 Tom Lindsay , 3 Phil Swainston , 4 Tom Palmer , 5 Marco Wentzel , 6 Ashley Johnson , 7 Sam Jones , 8 Billy Vunipola

Replacements : 16 T Rhys Thomas , 17 Zak Taulafo , 18 Lorenzo Romano , 19 James Cannon , 20 Jonathan Poff , 21 Charlie Davies , 22 Charlie Hayter , 23 Jack Wallace

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.