Sharks make four changes for Cheetahs

The Sharks have made four changes to the team that lost to the Stormers last weekend for this week’s clash against the Cheetah in Durban.

Sharks coach John Plumtree has made two changes to the forwards with Deysel coming in for Ryan Kankowski.

Wiehahn Herbst starts at prop with Jannie du Plessis named to come off the bench.

An injury to JP Pietersen sees Sean Robinson move to the leeft wing with Odwa Ndungane named on the right.

Francois Steyn makes way for Riaan Viljoen at fullback, and Andries Coetzee, on loan from the Lions, could make his Sharks debut off the bench alongside Tera Mtembu.

“JP is probably one of our best players and to lose him at this stage is a massive loss,” said Plumtree on the Sharks site.

“Injuries are really doing their best to try and derail our bid to win the trophy so it’s become difficult and stressful for everyone here, the coaches, players and medical team.

“We’ve just got to dig in and get on with it and we’ve brought in some players, Piet Lindeque and Andries Coetzee from the Lions. But it hasn’t been easy getting a team together for this weekend and also getting a squad ready to tour.”

Plumtree said that they are working out a plan for Kankowski who has been struggling with his form.

“Ryan Kankowski is not in good form at the moment. We are still putting a plan in place for him going forward, but I think he’s still feeling the effects of the Japanese season, he still hasn’t come right.”

“He, himself, is battling to work out what’s going wrong, it’s not easy for him or anyone of us. Right now he’s struggling and how he gets back to the required levels will be interesting to see, but it is alarming for me as well because he’s one of our better players.

“We’ll back Tera Mtembu in the loose trio; he’s had some time in the Currie Cup and a little in Super Rugby. He’s confident about playing at this level. He’ll get more time touring with us. “


15. Riaan Viljoen , 14. Odwa Ndungane , 13. Paul Jordaan , 12. Meyer Bosman , 11. Sean Robinson , 10. Patrick Lambie , 9. Cobus Reinach , 8. Keegan Daniel (C) , 7. Jean Deysel , 6. Marcell Coetzee , 5. Franco van der Merwe , 4. Pieter-Steph du Toit , 3. Wiehahn Herbst , 2. Kyle Cooper , 1. Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements , 16. Craig Burden , 17. Jannie du Plessis , 18. Anton Bresler , 19. Tera Mtembu , 20. Charl McLeod , 21. Francois Steyn , 22. Andries Coetzee

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.