Saints victory means London Welsh are relegated

Northampton Saints 14-31 bonus point victory over London Welsh means that the Exiles will be relegated from the Aviva Premiership at the end of the season.

Tom May and Luther Burrell both scored a brace of tries to send Welsh back
down to the Championship and seal a vital bonus point victory as the Saints
look to secure a place in the top four.

The struggling hosts started promisingly and were ahead after half an hour
as winger Nick Scott scored and scrum-half Alex Davies added the conversion
in response to two penalties from Stephen Myler.

The Exiles’ challenge unravelled somewhat in the final 10 minutes of the first
half though as Myler added another three points and veteran centre May crossed
the whitewash twice in the space of two minutes.

The 34-year-old showed good pace to first exploit an overlap and touch down
and then find a gap in the opposition defensive line an beat several players
on his way to the try-line.

Burrell added a third try for the Saints early in the second half as well as
Welsh failed to stop him after a typically bulldozing run from Brian Mujati
had laid the platform.

Northampton’s quest for a bonus point was momentarily derailed as Alex Waller
was sent to the sin bin and the home side’s pack took advantage of the extra
man to give number eight Daniel Browne the chance to score.

Scottish fly-half Gordon Ross added the conversion but he was given a yellow
card himself moments later and that gave the visitors just the boost they needed.

The Saints had to wait until just a few minutes from time but the powerful
Burrell stepped up again when it mattered to seal what could be a crucial bonus
point in the club’s attempt to make the playoffs.

Final Score London Welsh (7) 14 Northampton (19) 31


London Welsh
Try: Scott, Browne
Con: Davies, Ross

Try: May 2, Burrell 2
Con: Lamb
Pen: Myler 3

Match Officials
Greg Garner (48th Premiership game)
Assistant Referees: Stuart Terheege & Kevin Stewart.


Northampton Saints

15 Ben Foden, 14 Ken Pisi, 13 George Pisi, 12 Luther Burrell, 11 Jamie Elliott, 10 Stephen Myler, 9 Lee Dickson, 8 Samu Manoa, 7 Phil Dowson, 6 Tom Wood, 5 Christian Day, 4 Courtney Lawes, 3 Brian Mujati, 2 Dylan Hartley (c), 1 Soane Tonga’uiha.

Replacements: 16 Mike Haywood, 17 Alex Waller, 18 Paul Doran Jones, 19 GJ van Velze, 20 Calum Clark, 21 Martin Roberts, 22 Ryan Lamb, 23 Tom May.

London Welsh

15. Tom Arscott, 14. Seb Stegmann, 13. Sonny Parker , 12. Seb Jewell, 11. Nick Scott, 10. Gordon Ross , 9. Alex Davies, 1. Tom Bristow, 2. Greg Bateman, 3. Paulica Ion , 4. Jonathan Mills (C), 5. Kirill Kulemin , 6. Julio Cabello Farias , 7. Michael Hills, 8. Daniel Browne.

Replacements: 16. Dan George, 17. Arthur Joly, 18. James Tideswell, 19. Matt Corker, 20. Adam Balding, 21. Rob Lewis, 22. James Lewis, 23. Tom Voyce .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.