Exeter Chiefs too strong for London Irish

Exeter Chiefs scored two tries in their 27-6 Aviva Premiership victory over London Irish at Sandy Park on Saturday.

In a first half dominated by the boot Exeter took a 12-3 lead into the interval
through four Gareth Steenson penalties to Tom Homer’s one.

Steenson was again on target for the fifth time in the second period and, although
Homer added his second from the tee, Jess and Ewers touchdowns took them above
Bath into sixth.

Despite a disappointing run of results after Christmas, Rob Baxter’s men have
re-found their form and went into the game off the back of an impressive win
over Worcester.

And they dominated the forward confrontations in the first half which set the
platform for their fly-half to kick the points when on offer.

It was a quiet opening but, when a chance presented itself, Steenson was typically
accurate from the tee after 14 minutes.

Homer did level the scores soon after, but the Chiefs continued to control
proceedings and three successive penalties from the hosts’ stand-off opened
up a nine-point gap at half-time.

Exeter didn’t relent after the break and Steenson was on target from the tee
for the fifth time after 52 minutes.

Once again, Irish’s kicker kept them in the game with a second three-pointer,
but the home side effectively sealed the victory when Jess scampered over.

And Ewers added gloss to the scoreline when, from a five metre scrum, the back-rower
powered across the whitewash.

Final Score Exeter Chiefs 27 (12) London Irish 6 (3)


Exeter Chiefs
Tries – M.Jess, D.Ewers
Pen – G. Steenson (5)
Con – H.Slade
Drop –

London Irish
Tries –
Pen – T.Homer, I.Humphreys
Con –
Drop –

Match Officials
Martin Fox (88th Premiership game)
Assistant Referees: Paul Dix & Andrew Pearce.


Exeter Chiefs

15 Luke Arscott , 14 Jack Nowell , 13 Phil Dollman , 12 Jason Shoemark , 11 Matt Jess , 10 Gareth Steenson , 9 Haydn Thomas , 1 Brett Sturgess , 2 Jack Yeandle , 3 Hoani Tui , 4 Dean Mumm , 5 Damian Welch , 6 Ben White , 7 James Scaysbrook , 8 Richard Baxter (capt)

Replacements : 16 Chris Whitehead , 17 Carl Rimmer , 18 Craig Mitchell , 19 Aly Muldowney , 20 Dave Ewers , 21 Will Chudley , 22 Henry Slade , 23 Ian Whitten

London Irish

15. Tom Homer; 14. Topsy Ojo; 13. Guy Armitage; 12. Shane Geraghty; 11. Sailosi Tagicakibau; 10. Ian Humphreys; 9. Darren Allinson; 1. Max Lahiff; 2. David Paice; 3. Leo Halavatau; 4. George Skivington (Captain); 5. Bryn Evans; 6. Matt Garvey; 7.Jebb Sinclair; 8. Ofisa Treviranus

Replacements: 16. Scott Lawson; 17. Alex Corbisiero; 18.Halani Aulika; 19. Kieran Low; 20. Jamie Gibson; 21. Jonathan Joseph; 22. Marland Yarde; 23. Jack Moates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.