Exeter stay alive with Worcester Warriors victory

Exeter Chiefs kept their hopes of reaching the play offs when they beat Worcester Warriors 18-24 in the Aviva Premiership at Sixways stadium.

A try from Dean Mumm in the final five minutes snatched victory for Exeter
in a ding-dong battle

The hosts had been well beaten by London Irish a week earlier, while the Chiefs
went down by the narrowest of margins against Leicester.

A penalty from Andy Goode in the third minute put Worcester in front, but the
visitors hit back in emphatic style when Luke Arscott crashed over under the
posts following a flowing passing move and a period of relentless Chiefs pressure.

Gareth Steenson’s conversion made it 3-7, but the lead was down to a single
point when Arscott added a second penalty.

The Chiefs again found a response to the concession as Steenson strode over
after Hadyn Thomas had made the half-break.

Steenson’s conversion made it 6-14 and it remained that way until half-time,
with the next points again coming from Steenson, whose penalty put the visitors
11 in front.

But Worcester hit back and their two tries in ten minutes saw the deficit erased
and the Chiefs put on the back foot.

Matt Kvesic scored following good play at the line-out and a strong maul and,
though the conversion was missed, Josh Drauniniu was able to put Worcester in
front when he crashed over in the corner for Goode to strike the crucial conversion.

At 18-17 the game was finely poised, and the Chiefs were forced to find an
extra gear to force their way back into the contest.

And to the hosts’ despair, Exeter were able to take their opportunity just
four minutes from time when Mumm burrowed over from short range.

Steenson’s conversion made it 18-24 and the visitors were able to hold on for
a hard-fought win.

Final Score Worcester 18 (6) Exeter 24 (14)


Worcester Warriors
Tries: Kvesic, Drauniniu
Cons: Goode
Pens: Goode 2

Tries: Arscott, Steenson, Mumm
Cons: Steenson 3
Pens: Steenson

Match Officials
: David Rose (110th Premiership game)
Assistant Referees: Steve Lee & Nigel Carrick.



15 Chris Pennell, 14 Josh Drauniniu, 13 Alex Grove, 12 Josh Matavesi, 11 David Lemi, 10 Andy Goode, 9 Jonny Arr, 8 Semisi Taulava, 7 Matt Kvesic, 6 Neil Best, 5 Chris Jones, 4 James Percival (c), 3 Euan Murray, 2 Ed Shervington , 1 Matt Mullan

Replacements, 16 Aleki Lutui, 17 Ceri Jones, 18 John Andress, 19 Dean Schofield, 20 Sam Betty, 21 Shaun Perry, 22 Danny Gray, 23 Jon Clarke

Exeter Chiefs

15 Luke Arscott, 14 Jack Nowell, 13 Phil Dollman, 12 Jason Shoemark, 11 Matt Jess, 10 Gareth Steenson, 9 Haydn Thomas, 8 Richard Baxter (capt), 7 James Scaysbrook,6 Dave Ewers , 5 Damian Welch, 4 Dean Mumm, 3 Hoani Tui, 2 Jack Yeandle,1 Carl Rimmer

Replacements : 16 Chris Whitehead, 17 Brett Sturgess, 18 Craig Mitchell, 19 James Hanks, 20 Ben White, 21 Will Chudley, 22 Henry Slade, 23 Sireli Naqelevuki

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.