Saracens come from behind to beat Wasps

Saracens came from behind to beat London Wasps 13-22 at Adams Park in the Aviva Premiership on Saturday.

Saracens left it late as Chris Ashton’s try and three penalties from Owen Farrell
snatched victory in last quarter.

Wasps had been defeated narrowly by Northampton a week earlier, while Saracens
had wind in their sails following a win over Harlequins.

The hosts made a tremendous start to the match and held a 13-point advantage
with less than 15 minutes played.

Elliot Daly got the ball rolling for Wasps with a penalty goal and he added
a second, after Christian Wade intercepted to race over for the game’s first

13-0 down, Saracens sprung into life and by half-time they’d reduced the deficit
to just five points.

Chris Wyles’ try on 17 minutes, scored from a quickly-taken tap penalty, got
Saracens off the mark and, though Farrell was wide with the conversion, his
penalty just shy of the half-hour kept the visitors in contention.

Mouritz Botha saw yellow at the end of the first half for a deliberate knock-on,
but Wasps were unable to make their numerical advantage count in the minutes
following the restart.

Farrell’s penalty just after the hour put Sarries to within two and the visitors
had the lead on 66 minutes when Ashton latched on to Alex Goode’s kick to crash

The conversion was missed, but a brace of penalties from Farrell in the final
ten minutes took the game away from the hosts.

Sarries remained in control for much of the final quarter to confirm a frustrating
afternoon for Wasps, who were unable to bounce back from the previous week’s
heartache against Northampton despite a promising start to the match.

Full time score London Wasps 13 (13) Saracens 22 (8)


London Wasps
Tries: Wade
Cons: Jones
Pens: Daly 2

Tries: Wyles, Ashton
Pens: Farrell 4

Match Officials
: Martin Fox (89th Premiership game)
Assistant Referees: Andrew Pearce & Ashley Rowden.


London Wasps

15 Elliot Daly , 14 Christian Wade , 13 Andrea Masi , 12 Chris Bell , 11 Tom Varndell , 10 Stephen Jones , 9 Joe Simpson , 1 Zak Taulafo , 2 Tom Lindsay , 3 Phil Swainston , 4 Joe Launcbury , 5 Marco Wentzel (c ) , 6 Ashley Johnson , 7 Sam Jones , 8 Billy Vunipola

Replacements: 16 T Rhys Thomas , 17 Tim Payne , 18 Will Taylor , 19 Tom Palmer , 20 Jonathan Poff , 21 Charlie Davies , 22 Nick Robinson , 23 Hugo Southwell


15 Alex Goode , 14 Chris Ashton , 13 Joel Tomkins , 12 Owen Farrell , 11 Chris Wyles , 10 Charlie Hodgson , 9 Neil de Kock , 1 Mako Vunipola , 2 John Smit , 3 Petrus du Plessis , 4 Steve Borthwick (c) , 5 Mouritz Botha , 6 Jackson Wray , 7 Will Fraser , 8 Ernst Joubert

16 Jamie George , 17 Rhys Gill , 18 Carlos Nieto , 19 George Kruis , 20 Jacques Burger , 21 Richard Wigglesworth , 22 Duncan Taylor , 23 David Strettle

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.