Exeter Chiefs pull off shock victory over Harlequins

Gareth Steenson kicked 17 points to help pull off a shock 16-27 victory for Exeter Chiefs over Aviva Premiership Champions Harlequins.

Quins headed into the game in very strong form, while the Chiefs were fresh from a comfortable victory over London Welsh.

The game’s first try came after just six minutes, when Ugo Monye surged on to a neat short ball to touch down. Nick Evans added the conversion to make it a perfect start for the hosts.

But Quins’ indiscipline cost them in the minutes that followed as Gareth Steenson struck two penalties to cut the deficit to a single point.

Steenson then added another three-pointer on the half-hour to put the Chiefs in front for the first time, though Evans’ effort less than five minutes later restored a narrow advantage for Harlequins.

The two teams traded further penalties following the restart, with Steenson’s brace for Exeter cancelled out by two three-pointers from Quins substitute Ben Botica.

A great break initiated by Steenson then saw the Chiefs go close, before the pressure finally told as Damien Welch crashed over from short range after the ball was worked right.

The concession prompted a frenzied response from the hosts and they appeared capable of battling their way back in front, but a stunning second try from the visitors left Quins with a mountain to climb, as Luke Arscott broke through some weak defence before swan-diving over under the posts.

The excellent Steenson added the extras to make it 16-27, and, though Quins rallied in search of a losing bonus point, the Exter defence held firm to scupper any hope of consolation.

Final Score Harlequins (10) 16 Exeter Chiefs (9) 27


Try: Monye
Con: Evans
Pens: Evans, Botica 2

Exeter Chiefs
Tries: Welch, Arscott
Con: Steenson
Pens: Steenson 5

Match Officials
: David Rose (108th Premiership game)
Assistant Referees: Roy Maybank and Andrew Pearce.
TMO: Graham Hughes.



15. Ollie Lindsay-Hague , 14. Tom Williams , 13. Matt Hopper , 12. Jordan Turner-Hall , 11. Ugo Monye , 10. Nick Evans , 9. Karl Dickson,1. Mark Lambert , 2. Joe Gray , 3. James Johnston , 4. Nick Easter (C) , 5. George Robson , 6. Maurie Fa’asavalu , 7. Luke Wallace , 8. Tom Guest

Replacements : 16. Rob Buchanan , 17. Darryl Marfo , 18. Will Collier , 19. Charlie Matthews , 20. Joe Trayfoot , 21. Jordan Burns , 22. Ben Botica , 23. George Lowe

Exeter Chiefs

15 Luke Arscott , 14 Jack Nowell , 13 Sireli Naqelevuki , 12 Phil Dollman , 11 Matt Jess , 10 Gareth Steenson , 9 Haydn Thomas , 1 Carl Rimmer , 2 Jack Yeandle , 3 Alex Brown , 4 Tom Hayes , 5 Damian Welch , 6 Ben White , 7 James Scaysbrook , 8 Richard Baxter

16 Neil Clark , 17 Ben Moon , 18 Craig Mitchell , 19 James Hanks , 20 Dave Ewers , 21 Will Chudley , 22 Ignacio Mieres , 23 Ian Whitten

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.