Exeter Chiefs smash London Welsh

Exeter Chiefs scored five tries on their way to hammering the Premiership newcomers 47-16 at Sandy Park on Saturday

The result ends a dismal run in the Aviva Premiership for Exeter who scored four tries in the second half saw Exeter shake off the challenge of Exiles and emerge comfortable winners.

Indiscipline from both sides kept the scoreboard ticking over during the opening exchanges.

Gavin Henson’s penalty on three minutes put Welsh in front, and he added a second, after Gareth Steenson had briefly put the hosts back on level terms.

Steenson then struck twice more to put Exeter in front for the first time in the match, before the two teams traded further penalties to leave the Chiefs 12-9 in front.

The game’s first try followed on 31 minutes, scored by Jack Yeandle following several short surges at the visitors’ try line.

Steenson’s conversion made it 19-9 and it remained that way until half-time.

A much livelier opening to the second half brought three tries in the first ten minutes.

Tom Hayes’ effort on 44 minutes, converted by Steenson, put the Chiefs in a great position, but Welsh pegged the hosts back through a converted Phil Mackenzie effort.

Damian Welch’s try on 51 minutes again put daylight between the sides, and this time Exeter were able to establish a foothold in the contest and pull away.

Sireli Naqelevuqi crashed over just shy of the hour, which Steenson again added to to make it 40-16, and the game was up for Welsh.

Jack Nowell rubbed salt in the wounds in the final ten minutes the hosts’ fifth try, and Steenson kept up his excellent record with the boot, converting to bring the scoring to a close.

Final Score Exeter Chiefs 47 London Welsh 16


Tries: Yeandle, Hayes, Welch, Naqelevuki, Nowell
Con: Steenson 5
Pen: Steenson 4

London Welsh
Try: MacKenzie
Con: Henson
Pen: Henson 3

Match Officials
Andrew Small (85th Premiership game)
Assistant Referees: Andrew Pearce and Peter Huckle.


Exeter Chiefs

15 Luke Arscott , 14 Jack Nowell , 13 Sireli Naqelevuki , 12 Jason Shoemark , 11 Matt Jess , 10 Gareth Steenson , 9 Haydn Thomas , 1 Carl Rimmer , 2 Jack Yeandle , 3 Hoani Tui , 4 Tom Hayes (capt) , 5 Dean Mumm , 6 Ben White , 7 James Scaysbrook , 8 Richard Baxter

16 Neil Clark , 17 Ben Moon , 18 Alex Brown , 19 Damian Welch , 20 Dave Ewers , 21 Will Chudley , 22 Ignacio Mieres , 23 Phil Dollman

London Welsh

15. Tom Arscott, 14. Phil MacKenzie , 13. Gonzalo Tiesi , 12. Seb Jewell, 11. Nick Scott, 10. Gavin Henson , 9. Tyson Keats, 1. Franck Montanella , 2. Neil Briggs, 3. Greg Bateman, 4. Jonathan Mills (C), 5. Matt Corker, 6. Adam Balding, 7. Julio Cabello Farias , 8. Ed Jackson.

Replacements: 16. Dan George, 17. Tom Bristow, 18. James Tideswell, 19. Martin Purdy, 20. Michael Hills, 21. Rob Lewis, 22. Gordon Ross , 23. Sonny Parker


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.