Southern Kings name their first Super Rugby team

The Southern Kings have named their team to face the Western Force in their first ever Super Rugby match to be held in Port Elizabeth on Saturday.

The team has several familiar faces including flyhalf Demetri Catrakilis, inside centre Andries Strauss, outside centre Ronnie Cooke, hooker Bandise Maku and lock Steven Sykes who have all be named in the starting line up.

The Southern Kings have been limited to fielding two foreign players in their
Super Rugby squad so Argentina’s Tomas Leonardi and French hooker Virgile Lacombe
look set to miss the Super Rugby season unless the Kings can come up with a
way to play them.

The Kings have also named South African schoolboy rugby player of the year
in 2012 Sergeal Petersen to make his debut on the wing.

Peterson turns 19 later in the year and was still in school three months ago.

Southern Kings.

15 SP Marais, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Ronnie Cooke, 12 Andries Strauss, 11 Marcello Sampson, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Shaun Venter, 8. Luke Watson (c), 7. Wimpie van der Walt, 6. Cornell du Preez, 5. Steven Sykes, 4 David Bulbring, 3 Kevin Buys, 2 Bandise Maku, 1 Schalk Ferreira

Replacements : 16 Edgar Marutlulle, 17 Jaco Engels, 18 Daniel Adongo, 19 Jacques Engelbrecht, 20 Johan Herbst, 21 George Whitehead, 22 Hadleigh Parkes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.