Highlanders name final trial team to face Blues

Highlanders’ Head Coach Jamie Joseph has named his starting team to play the Blues at the Recreation Ground in Queenstown in a Super Rugby warm up.

The match will be the Highlanders third and final pre-season game for both New Zealand franchises.

There are a number of changes from the team that played the Crusaders in Oamaru last Friday.

Nasi Manu, Josh Bekhuis and Hayden Parker join the starting XV.

In the forwards, Jarrad Hoeata moves to loose-head lock and Josh Bekhuis joins him as locking partner.

Nasi Manu makes a return from injury and replaces Elliot Dixon at number 8.

In the backs the only change from the starting seven that beat the Crusaders is Hayden Parker at first five eighth.


1. Tony Woodcock , 2. Breayden Mitchell , 3. Ma’afu Fia , 4. Jarrad Hoeata , 5. Josh Bekhuis , 6. Joe Wheeler , 7. John Hardie , 8. Nasi Manu , 9. Aaron Smith , 10. Hayden Parker , 11. Hosea Gear (c) , 12. Ma’a Nonu , 13. Phil Burleigh , 14. Kade Poki , 15. Buxton Popoalii

Replacements :

Backs: Jason Emery, Fumiaki Tanaka, Shaun Treeby, Trent Renata and Frae Wilson.

Forwards: Hugh Blake, Tim Boys, Liam Coltman, Tom Franklin, Paul Grant, Chris King, Jamie Mackintosh and Bronson Murray.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.